We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunny connemara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel,we arrived on sat and we got given room 106 which was like
a sauna and I asked at reception if the heating could be turned down and was offered a different room away from the pool area.The two fruit fairies at reception (yes you know who you are) got staff to move all our bags to a much cooler room,and leave a bowl of fresh fruit,THANK YOU.
All the staff at this hotel were GREAT.The breakfasts were superb a great start each morning. A
great location at the top of the lovely town of Clifden with a short walk in to a busy vibrant wee town. The Station House bar just across the way from reception serves good food and has a quirky decor. Would definitely return. Once again a big thank you to Andrea and Kathleen.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms close to the pool on the first floor as they are too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandfunseeker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed in a self catering apartment for a week in June,overall we had a great stay but there are a lot of steps up and down to the apartments and the apartments could do with some updating,but I did see some work being done in various apartments.
The staff are the hotels crown from check in to check out nothing was to much,everyone was very friendly and helped where they could.
The pool is fine and great to have on rainy days as is the cinema for older kids and they have a kids club for June and August.
We loved our stay in clifden and will stay in the station house when we return.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank har76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Convenient location, a short walk to Clifden. Room basic but very clean. Excellent food both in the hotel restaurant and bar directly opposite the hotel. Great pool! Friendly, attentive staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmcvClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Just back from the Station House Hotel in Clifden. We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment and enjoyed every minute of it. The facilities are excellent, pool, restaurant, even a cinema. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The apartment was spacious and very comfortable, well stocked with crockery and cutlery, and the beds are extremely comfortable. We wanted an apartment because our boys were in the Gaeltacht and we were able to collect them and had the facility of cooking for them and doing their washing as you have full facilities of cooker, oven, dishwasher and washer dryer. It is a wonderful location for touring and very well stocked for shops for self catering. It is an ideal holiday for family as it can be expensive eating out all the time and this way you have an alternative to cook in. Being part of the hotel is great too as you have the use of all the faciliies. Also, having two teenage boys, it is nice to have your own rooms and the space to sit and relax. We will definely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Karen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on night 2 of our west of Ireland honeymoon. Facilities provided are great and all requests were answered by staff. We even ended up in a sing song with a bus trip in the lobby bar til 1am. Great craic all round!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed in the Station House as my husband and I were due to take part in the Connemarathon. It was extremely busy but despite this the staff were friendly and informative at the front desk. The room was nice, clean and quiet. We enjoyed the spa area and swimming pool the next day - like many places in Ireland you are expected to wear a swimming cap - so make sure you pack one. There were quite a few options for eating out nearby and lots of nice pubs but before a marathon we like just to have a carry out pizza with no fuss - but there we could only find one place for takeaway food nearby so if you are considering a self catering option at the Station House and would like a takeaway to save cooking one night you could bear that in mind. We had dinner in the hotel one night and really enjoyed it - the local mussels as a starter were fantastic. The breakfast was varied and good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed in the attached apartments whose rate include breakfast in the hotel. Apartments nice and clean and well kitted out. Breakfast in the hotel very good and gave under 12 kids for free. Pool excellent for kids. Hotel staff very pleasant, helpful and efficient. Pleny to see and do around the town of Clfden and it's surrounds

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing