We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but ear plugs required for a weekend breakfast....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifden Station House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but ear plugs required for a weekend breakfast....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Called into the wonderful Tourist Centre in Clifden (thanks Jeannie!) and due to the shortage of beds in the area, pointed us in the direction of the Station House Hotel next door. We called in and the wonderful receptionist asked if we'd like to check the room out before we booked in - very good service and yes, we did book in! Double and a single bed (great as I was travelling with my mum). Very clean, functional and everything you could possibly need while touring around Ireland. The hotel was in a lovely setting around the former railway station - very nice!
The only drawback was the utter chaos at breakfast. We had to wait to be seated - not a problem at all as we hoped the din and chaos would die down. I was desperate to use my loudhailer and tell the occupants of the room to all take a deep breath and use indoor voices...!! (Yes, I work in a school.....sorry!!).
I fully appreciate it was a weekend when we stayed, but the restaurant was absolutely packed full to the brim (a number of fairly infirm guests with walking sticks/wheelchairs, prams, children running around - all in a fairly small room, full of tables/big chairs/guests carrying plates of hot food - all while the waiting staff were trying to clear the tables and bring out hot tea/coffee). It seems that everyone in Clifden had come down for breakfast at the same time. The breakfast was a very good choice - fruit, continental, pastries, hot selection etc. The food itself was very good and well recommended - it was just the ear piercing noise that was just incredible - it was similar to a noisy school dining hall - sorry!

I must say that the reception staff are exceptionally helpful and polite - a joy to deal with. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireMackem04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    378
    105
    37
    16
See reviews for
442
453
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this hotel through the internet from the US, for a family of 5. But, when I arrived the room configuration was not at all appropriate for my family. Reception and manager lacked good customer communication skills - were not eager to accommodate. Insisted that double bed, sofa bed, and foam mattress for floor was suitable. Became confrontational and did not offer an apology. Made customer wait for half hour in lobby before changing room. Finally gave me a room with a single bed, a double and roll away bed - for 5 people. Room was tiny.
Awoke at 4am by staff moving squeaky cart through hallway outside room, and other customer banging on some other door.
Breakfast area was crammed, so people had to wait for tables and then wait for food in long lines. Selection at breakfast was good, however cups were dirty, stained with tea and coffee on inside and along sides.
Overpriced hotel

Room Tip: Do not recommend hotel, but if you must stay there I would suggest that you reconfirm size and confi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AineUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family of five and extended family and friends had a weekend break in this hotel and were so impressed by all aspects of the hotel. Reception, bar, restaurant, leisure club staff were all so helpful and accommodating of our various requests. It was not our first time to stay here and certainly won't be our last! The standard of accommodation was excellent and so was the food. Smiles and kindness go a long way!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here recently for family holiday. Reception staff were very nice and welcoming which was a great start. Rooms are comfortable but a bit tired and outdated-they could do with a freshen up. We found the housekeeping and swimming pool staff very nice also but a very different story with the restaurant staff. Every morning we had breakfast, we were ignored. There was a lot of staff on (almost falling over each other) but had no interest in looking after their customers. Every morning, we had to go looking for our tea, there was no communication at all with the customers and they all looked pretty miserable as if they did not want to be there. Breakfast was nice but a bit basic but probably ok for what you pay. Swimming pool is excellent and the hotel is in a great location in Clifden. Also, was a bit disappointed that wifi was not free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandKaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was a last minute booking and we were pleased to find that our room was enormous, very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff were pleasant, and they were quick to sort out a problem we had with accessing the hotel broadband. The hotel was fully booked and at peak breakfast time of 9am, we had a short wait in reception for a table. However the breakfast buffet was plentiful and cooked to a good standard. We would stay here again and recommend it to anybody staying in Clifden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirKer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed in one of the apartments for a week in aug 2013. Comfortable and clean but could be brightened up a little. Overall very good. The location is great, very central and close to everything in Clifden. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and facilities are very child friendly.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed in Clifden Station House in late July for a weekend. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, courteous and professional with the exception of a slightly overbearing waiter each morning at breakfast. I didn't know if his concern for our quality of sleep the night before was sincere or condescension, and to be honest was a little off-putting.
We went for dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night and the food was very nice. THe decor was a little tired but nothing offensive. It was a veyr warm evening and there was no opportunity to dine outside, even though we had very large windows along one wall; there were no doors or openable windows to the patio - what a wasted opportunity. Our breakfast experience was a little poorer - the restaurant was not nearly large enough to accommodate the guests staying; the hot buffet area was far too small and badly organised. A small extension onto the side of this restaurant to provide a larger buffet area, and connecting it to the fabulous courtyard space they have, would go a long way to improving their current situation.
The car park takes up the courtyard space - this shoudl be a hard landscaped area with outdoor tables - get rid of the car parking or move it somewhere else, only about 20 spaces are in question.
The room was fine, clean, comfortable - certainly we would have liked more air.
Again, the staff were excellent, but I must mention in particular Renew Spa - I had a facial on the first morning, and the wonderful lady who treated me also painted my finger nails as a gift! I was very surprised and it certainly went some way to making my weekend. She was also very friendly, a good conversationalist and very professional. I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel spa to anyone wishing to give themselves a treat.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the Clifden Station House despite the breakfast/waiter fiasco each morning. We will probably go back.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard; the other side faces a bus park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing