We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Mayo Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The welcome in the hotel was great and its true that staff make a place. Hotel is in a good location but it does require upgrading. A lot of scuff marks etc and the rooms are in need of a makeover. Beds were comfortable and rooms and bathrooms were clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of cereals breads etc and the hot counter was non greasy. Dinner was good with a varied menu to suit all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    391
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
467
461
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

It's taken a while for me to review, but I have to say "hat's off" the Station House crew.

My friend had her reception here last summer and it was great. The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was taken care of. With everyone staying in the hotel or in the apartments, it felt as if we had our own little village for the weekend.

If I'm ever back in Clifden - I will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swiss_Miss_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We styled one night while on a coach tour. The rooms and hotel are starting to look shabby and need a facelift. Woodwork very worn; paint is peeling, and furniture is worn. Staff are friendly and helpful, but this is not a hotel we would stay at again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed in the Station House last weekend and everything from start to finish was very well done. The Staff could not have been more attentive and helpful. The Arts Festival was just started in Clifden so there was a great buzz around the town and there is a Theatre on site by the hotel which hosted many events.
The selection at breakfast was good, hot food was good as long as you managed to get it freh from the kitchen. The quality of the dinner was great.
The rooms are comfortable, and more importantly very clean.
Looking forward to going back again soon; on checkout was given vouchers for stay in a range of other hotels in Ireland as they are part of select hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at station house last weekend and had a great stay , the check in was Quick and easy whit Kathleen in reception. the hotel was fantastic, great rooms, and facilitys on the hotel, the food in the bar was fantastic, all staff was really friendly and helpfull to us.
and just a 5 min walk up Town to shops and pubs, will def stay here again. Thanks for a lovley stay see u next time !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62Emelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here recently as part of a large group of girls. The service was outstanding, very friendly and the staff did everything to accommodate us all and more. The location is very central, the rooms were very spacious and tidy. Any questions before our stay about activities and the local area were quickly answered. Breakfast was fantastic! Would definitely recommend it to all and will be staying here again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoraineK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
303 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I'd rate this 3.5 = good - ie better than Average, but not Very Good. It's a modern hotel, but strangely no free wifi in the room - just a pay-for LAN connection.
We were with a large group. They struggled to cope with so many of us at our dinner the first evening, but the food was good - a nice fresh hake and properly cooked vegetables. We were hungry and so asked for more bread rolls for the soup.
Unintentional amusement was afforded by the wine list which described one as "A Pandora's box of flavours". The writer obviously did not know that in Greek myth the box contained all the evils of the world. The waiter knew what it meant, though, when I asked. My first and second choice of wine bottles were not available so when he offered a bottle of house white (Kawin, a decent enough Sauvignon Blanc from Chile) it was obvious the selection was very small indeed. When the main course was cleared away for dessert, the bread rolls arrived; some more harmless amusement, fortunately the food was good enough, even for a large crowd, to avoid any Fawlty Towers references.
The king size bed was comfortable and the room quiet - so quiet we could hear the people next door through the dividing door.
The breakfast was OK - standard full Irish plus a cereal offering. There was no All-Bran so I asked for porridge and got a watery gruel with a burnt taste. The scrambled eggs looked unattractively runny. Next day, I stuck to the fruit, prunes, cereal, and smoked salmon, which was much better.
On checkout we were able to leave our cases in the room until final departure at 4pm, which was very nice. We did not have time to try the spa / leisure centre.
In summary, OK, as long as you know what to avoid at breakfast and to ask for a properly sound-insulated room.

Room Tip: Ask for one without a linking door to the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing