We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We brought 3 children with us aged 9,8 & 4. They enjoyed the kids club unlike our experiences elsewhere. In Station house they wanted to join in and didn't escape. Well done to the kids club staff. Outside kids club hours which are 3pm-9pm, there's not much for them, especially in the rain. 2 hours in the pool, some table tennis, running around the lobby and watching tv in the bedroom summed up our kids entertainment.
Food was lovely. Plenty of seafood. Great breakfast spread and the kids loved the fresh pancakes. Diner was lovely - tasty and filling.
The lobby pianist was a lovely touch. Rounded off the day with a bit of music with the odd song coming from the audience.
The room was basic, pull out sofa and fold up bed squeezed all 5 of us in affordably. Clean and well kept like the rest of the hotel. Housekeeping is available every day.
The pool was fine at 4ft high, plenty of arm bands available. The toddler pool was substantial as toddler pools go.
All staff are lovely and friendly adding to an all round pleasant experience.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Theresa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Station House in Clifden on the 21st of December, 2013 for his 40th birthday. The receptionist that greeted us, the room, the meals, everything was perfect. We came back from lunch to find a bottle of wine left for us for his birthday. Attention to detail was second to none in this hotel. Our dinner in the evening was lovely, we had mulled wine prior to eating, met the manager Ronan Fahy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a break away. Nothing was too much for any member of staff. We will definitely be returning in 2014 for another break!!! Many thanks to one and all.

Room Tip: The only little quibble I had was there were children staying next door to us and they were up early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 178Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here in october as part of a walking weekend, and was more than impressed. From reception on arrival to departure the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Housekeeping even called to the room to see if we were happy with any cleaning that waas done. Room was excelent, had everything we needed. Will definitely be back here

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to try the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had the pleasure of a break at the clifden, The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, The room was very clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. I will try to book another break in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donald h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I really want to rate this place highly. the staff are amzing, and great fun. We were there the weekend of the 13-15th of December and it was very quiet so got chatting to all the staff, I cannopt speak highly enough of them. They are so lovely, i will definately be making a trip back to the station house.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very warm reception on arrival, check-in quick and efficient, we were informed that the kitchen was under renovation so breakfast would be served in the Station House restaurant across the courtyard. Unfortunately same cannot be said for tall dark haired receptionist the following morning, she barely looked up from the desk and when we asked about local places to visit she directed us to leaflets near the lift. I felt like we were really bothering her with nonsense, very rude and surly, which is a pity as all other receptionists were lovely. We were given a room on the first floor very tired and dated decor. As we started to unpack we could hear a kango hammer directly below us, rang reception to ask when it would stop and were informed they were working until 8pm but they offered to move us to another room and floor, the new room was more modern but still needs attention, black scuff marks on skirting boards, shower drain smelly when shower first turned on, beds not of best quality, have mattress toppers rather than good quality ones, hotel was pretty empty so why were we offerer poorer room first? The package we went for was 2 nights BB&1D, breakfast the following morning involved getting wrapped up for the cold, but was good it included fresh fruit and good coffee. The dinner menu is very limited, but the daily specials enlarge it slightly unfortunately the daily specials were the same for both days, but quality good, portions generous and service speedy. On checking out their computer system was down so we could not get a copy of our bill and were just told what we owed and no offer to forward on receipt to us. I don't know if I would try here again as this was the end of the season and service and standards were slipping so wondering how they would cope in busy seasons. Overall below average impression all round.

Room Tip: Ask for room on fourth floor as these seem to have been added later and are more modern, also street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellybean142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Great spot and great service at reception. However lack of hot water and a leaking tap a real disappointment. The tap had been leaking so long it had rusted the fixture below! No internet in room. For breakfast there was no menu, just "whatever you want". Which is a bit disconcerting.
.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiethefly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
294 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £68 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing