We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy and lovely stay. Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very happy and lovely stay. Dublin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very nice hotel, staff were more than friendly and rooms were very nice and clean,cosy too, great choice in food both in breakie and dinner. Was there in Clifden with a small group of people doing some canoeing and hillwalking, we enjoy our time down in Connemara will be see you soon again at the clifden station house, tnxs. dee

Room Tip: happy with everything .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    389
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
456
458
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just back from a two day break. This is our second time staying here and we would highly recommend it for a relaxing break. From the minute you arrive you are made feel truly welcome. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious (we had a family deluxe room). The pool area is well maintained. We ate in the railway bar on first night, food and service was very good. Ate in hotel restaurant on new years eve, food was excellent. Breakfast was also very good with plenty choice. Will definetly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMarieGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had a winter break of two nights here and it was such a relaxing and comfortable stay. The staff in the Hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. They were very pleasant and was there anytime we needed anything. The rooms were really nice and so was the tasty menu in the onsite restaurant and in the Bar across the road from the Hotel. There was a pool for the kids and adults and we had a great swim. The Hotel is located in the little town and has access to shops, petrol station, restaurant etc....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We brought 3 children with us aged 9,8 & 4. They enjoyed the kids club unlike our experiences elsewhere. In Station house they wanted to join in and didn't escape. Well done to the kids club staff. Outside kids club hours which are 3pm-9pm, there's not much for them, especially in the rain. 2 hours in the pool, some table tennis, running around the lobby and watching tv in the bedroom summed up our kids entertainment.
Food was lovely. Plenty of seafood. Great breakfast spread and the kids loved the fresh pancakes. Diner was lovely - tasty and filling.
The lobby pianist was a lovely touch. Rounded off the day with a bit of music with the odd song coming from the audience.
The room was basic, pull out sofa and fold up bed squeezed all 5 of us in affordably. Clean and well kept like the rest of the hotel. Housekeeping is available every day.
The pool was fine at 4ft high, plenty of arm bands available. The toddler pool was substantial as toddler pools go.
All staff are lovely and friendly adding to an all round pleasant experience.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Station House in Clifden on the 21st of December, 2013 for his 40th birthday. The receptionist that greeted us, the room, the meals, everything was perfect. We came back from lunch to find a bottle of wine left for us for his birthday. Attention to detail was second to none in this hotel. Our dinner in the evening was lovely, we had mulled wine prior to eating, met the manager Ronan Fahy and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a break away. Nothing was too much for any member of staff. We will definitely be returning in 2014 for another break!!! Many thanks to one and all.

Room Tip: The only little quibble I had was there were children staying next door to us and they were up early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 178Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templemore, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here in october as part of a walking weekend, and was more than impressed. From reception on arrival to departure the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Housekeeping even called to the room to see if we were happy with any cleaning that waas done. Room was excelent, had everything we needed. Will definitely be back here

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to try the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We had the pleasure of a break at the clifden, The staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, The room was very clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. I will try to book another break in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing