We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Station House Hotel Clifden last week on a 3 day "golden years" deal including Dinner. The location is perfect for exploring Connemara. Our room was excellent and the Staff and service was friendly and professional. The food was comparable to any quality Irish Restaurant and the overall value for money is outstanding. I would recommend this well run and comfortable hotel to anyone. Austin (Belfast)

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same quality and generous proportions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    391
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
466
461
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

All the staff where very kind and couldn't do enough to help the food in the bar was excellent over all the whole package was brilliant value. We stayed of one night in may with 2 kids can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C1McTigue2177mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Clifden Station House hotel for 2 nights last week in May. The staff in the hotel were great, so polite and friendly. We had breakfast in the hotel and the choice and quality of food was very good, only one niggle, on the second morning they did not have fresh orange juice it was concentrate and not particularly nice. We did have dinner in the bar across from the hotel but the food was not of the standard I expected, my husband was happy with his meal but I had ordered a burger and it wasn't that good - again niggles. The hotel restaurant looked to be pretty busy on the Sunday so I wish we had ate there during our stay. Overall we loved our stay at the hotel and in Clifden; though it is a very quiet wee town there are loads of wee shops and great galleries there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was nice and all of the employees were very friendly. I probably wouldn't have picked it, but our tour company put us here for two nights. There isn't anything to do in the area unless you want to shop and you can go through every shop in the area in a couple of hours. The first morning, our breakfast buffet was very good, the next morning it was a nightmare, There were two bus loads of very rude people trying to eat. Pushing and shoving people that didn't speak their language, French. There wasn't any organization and apparently several people didn't come in to work, because those that were working were having a tough time keeping up with things.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pub and it was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We had a 3 night break in the apartments attached to the hotel. The 2 bed apartment was well laid out, spacious and clean. The beds were dressed with good quality bed linen and very comfortable. There were extra towels and blankets in the wardrobes. The kitchen seemed adequately stocked but, to be honest, we didn't cook - we stayed on B&B basis and went out for dinner. Breakfast in the hotel was busy but the restaurant manager managed it well. There was lots of choice in the buffet (full Irish, continental, cereals, fruit etc) and poached eggs were cooked to order.

There was a good/recent movie service (extra charge €7.50 per movie) available so the kids watched a movie one evening. There was also a DVD player so you could bring your own.

Apartment residents have access to the hotel leisure centre which was great as the weather was wet on one of the days. In fact we went to the pool each day.

The staff in the hotel and leisure centre were very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping were also very attentive and checked in with us each day. They also let a fresh fruit plate at one stage which was a nice touch.

If I had to find a negative it would be to say that the decor in the apartment was a tiny bit dated and the sitting room/kitchen a bit lived in. The leisure centre while clean was also a bit worn in places. These were not big issues and the apartment was perfectly pleasant.

Clifden is a good base - we visited Kylemore Abbey, did the big walk in the Conemara National Park and drove the Sky Road loop which is really beautiful. There are plenty of good places to eat in Clifden and lots of great seafood.

An enjoyable family trip and we would be more than happy to stay in the Station House apartments again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joandfamilyblackrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We are just home from 2 nights in this hotel.we actually stayed in the apartments in the complex.they are really really nice.got everything you need and anything extra is just a short walk away.

In the hotel itself we had breakfast,which was lovely.top notch stuff and a fantastic spread,options for all people and ages.we also had a few pints in the residents bar which is a very nice and well looked after place.

In the complex itself we only went to the station house bar for food and drinks.food is super,couldn't shout loudly enough about the burger,super stuff altogether.herself really enjoyed the vegetarian thing she got too,can't remember what.great food,great service,great place,great ambience,happy days.That is all we went to in the complex but there is much more.next time we will hang around more.

As a base,it's top class.loads of parking in the complex,no problem coming and going and many sights and stunning scenery nearby.I could not recommend this place highly enough.it's just smashing.

A brilliant place in a beautiful place.
Fair play clifden station house,
I shall return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank redhero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay at the station house in clifden. Although only there for one night was a lovely break away in this lovely area. Food was very enjoyable and staff were very accommodating and helpful. Would definitely recommend again only down side was the lack of parking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing