We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot, noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

No airconditioning and window opened directly onto street only feet away. Cars roared by all night, and drunks loudly returning home from pubs at 3 am right outside our window. Terrible start to our two week Ireland tour. Staff friendly but no help - no fans either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinyFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Tiny Florida,

Thank you for posting your review of the Clifden Station House Hotel. I apologies that you found the room very hot . I have tried to track down what room you stayed in so I can investigate the matter further. If you could please contact me directly at ronan.fahy@clifdenstationhouse.com .

Kindest regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
There are newer reviews for Clifden Station House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in their self catering accommodation which is situated so that it is a quick walk into the centre of Clifden. The accommodation is clean and well laid out for a large family. We used the hotel for breakfast and we're made feel most welcome. The other advantage to the Station house is the pool. Kids loved this and again made feel most welcome.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank clodagh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Clodagh,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Ronan Fahy,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

At 100 euro a night this hotel is hugely overpriced. Rooms are very old, musty and ugly. The tv's in the rooms are from the dark ages. Advertised as having free wifi, but this is only in the reception area, there is no access to wifi at all in the rooms. The only good point I would make is the breakfast had a good selection and was tasty.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Mcfetre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mcfetre2,

Thank you for posting your recent review of the Clifden station House. In relation to your comments I will take them as constructive criticism, We are about to start the 1st phase of our refurbishment program which includes 30 rooms refurbished and new televisions for all 78 rooms. The second and final phase will be completed over the winter months.

In general guests find our bedrooms clean and comfortable, We are lucky to have a very good housekeeping team.

I would like if you contacted me directly to discuss your review ,It would be great to welcome you back once the refurbishment program is completed.

Kindest Regards,

Ronan Fahy
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a large group who stayed for 5 nights in two apartments at the Station House and once again we had a lovely time. The food at the Signal bar, the staff and facilities at the Station House are fantastic. Our three bedroom apartment was light, airy, clean and with plenty of space for 5 adults in our particular apartment and the large terrace was perfect in the evenings for relaxing with a glass of wine before we headed out for food and drinks in the evening.

The Station House is where we always choose to stay when we visit Clifden and its never disappointed us. The location is perfect to be able to get out and explore Connemara and the complex has a nice relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff, great food, facilities, accommodation that was suitable for everyone in our party (children, young adults, couples and grandparents).

We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: The three bed apartments have perfect sun-trap terraces
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catríona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A popular and well places hotel, with a nice bar... It's just that it felt a little understaffed, everyone seemed just a bit under pressure..... Also, they seemed to not really listen to our request for a quiet room away from kids/lift/traffic noise... Whilst there was no traffic noise whatsoever, we we're put on a floor with noisy families, and we looked out of our room directly onto the lift lobby, which could be heard at all times in our room... Other than that, the room was great and big, clean, the staff were friendly but the breakfast was very lack lustre and the evening meal was alright.... We didn't even bother to get up for breakfast on our second morning... So if you pick your room carefully and eat in some of the other wonderful places in Clifden, then it's a really nice place to stay, just make sure you are insistent on your requirements.

We did hear an older woman complain about the fumes, as there was painting going on on her floor, and the receptions reply of "he's only painting a door" sounded quite dismissive.. She mentioned that she had phoned down twice without result... So maybe a couple more staff, and a good bit more staff training would help this hotel blossom...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I stayed in the apartments in the Station house last week. I could not fault the service we were shown throughout our stay. The check in was seamless and the girl could not have been more helpful giving us recommendations on places of interest to go and see during our stay.
The apartment was extremely clean and upon arrival we found the basics had already been provided like bread/milk/orange juice and tea/coffee and biscuits/chocolate bars and some fruit.
This was an unexpected excellent surprise!!
Throughout our stay we ate several times in the Station house bar and found again that the service was excellent. The food was amazing and the selection for the children was much better than the typical nuggets and chips found elsewhere. I could not fault the food or the service provided to us.
We were blessed with good weather during our stay and enjoyed evenings on the terrace outside the apartments which had a lovely view of the show grounds and the town itself.
There is also a small cinema attached to the hotel which the children availed of watching a relatively new release that they had not seen.
Also the shopping on site in the design centre was excellent with beautiful clothing on offer. There is also a fabulous cafe in the courtyard which also had amazing food.
I could not recommend these apartments/hotel more. We were a family with 2 adults 2 children and also grandparents and it suited for all of us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having made our long trek west from Dublin we were delighted to be met by both a pleasant and very helpful front desk who led us to our 3 bed apartment just over looking the square. I must say the rooms where perfect and even for five adults there was plenty of room to spare. Having tried the station house bar food on the first night we were hooked and had most of our dinners here after exploring the treats of the Connemara countryside. The entertainment was also to a very high standard with live music every night and even a TV for the sports fans. Overall a great stay we will hopefully get over to stay again as 4 nights was not enough to time explore this delightful area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiamManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
289 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £69 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing