We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five night break, will return again,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A five night break, will return again,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a lengthy journey we were greated warmly. The accommodation was excellent, I shared a room with a friend lots of room.
Probably one of the greatest things was the food. The cuisine in the evenings was excellent cooked to a very high standard. One evening the service was slow but the food still good when it came. I don't know if they have Michelin stars in Eire but it was worthy of one. Excellent choices for breakfast. They catered for coaches as well as individual guests. There were two bars one within the hotel and the main bar opposite in the former station master's house. The railway left approximately forty years ago and so every building is knowbn as Platform 1,2 etc Three out the five nights my group stayed there was music.

The staff were both pleasant and also extremely thorough. Quality control checks by the housekeeping team in the bedrooms were daily.

Clifden is a nice town and the possibility of trips out were execellent.

I will definitely return hopefully in the not too distant future.

Chris

Room Tip: The rooms away from the main road are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stannybuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    389
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
456
458
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were visiting family in Clifden and decided to have a night in a hotel. What a good idea. The room was fabulous, a little expensive, but truly wonderful. It had views over the hills. The weather was really the best we could have, hot and sunny, so everything is good. The only downside was the wait for our evening meal (approx. 45 minutes for first course to arrive!!!). The food was well presented but not that special. Breakfast was the usual self service, all the choices were there.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a junior suite as we are both disabled and needed to be near a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in the apartments as we are a family of 7 & it was wonderfully spacious. Everything we needed was included. Staff were fantastic,very helpful & pleasant. will definitely be back. Thanks for everything. Marina.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a short stay. Hotel was lovely and clean. Staff were very friendly. Location was perfect and parking was plentiful. A lit bit of negativity though, we had dinner in the restaurant and the first table we were at was tiny and pinned up against a concrete pillar. We had to ask to be moved. Food was very over priced I thought for the amount we received. But other than that we were quite happy, i would have no problem staying there again but would consider eating somewhere else.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our best family break away, hotel, service, staff, food and leisure facilities were excellent. Got a good deal for three night stay with breakfast and evening meals. Definitely returning! Brilliant location for local sights and town centre just up the road. Loved it.

Room Tip: Make request on booking for best room available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

No airconditioning and window opened directly onto street only feet away. Cars roared by all night, and drunks loudly returning home from pubs at 3 am right outside our window. Terrible start to our two week Ireland tour. Staff friendly but no help - no fans either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinyFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Tiny Florida,

Thank you for posting your review of the Clifden Station House Hotel. I apologies that you found the room very hot . I have tried to track down what room you stayed in so I can investigate the matter further. If you could please contact me directly at ronan.fahy@clifdenstationhouse.com .

Kindest regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in their self catering accommodation which is situated so that it is a quick walk into the centre of Clifden. The accommodation is clean and well laid out for a large family. We used the hotel for breakfast and we're made feel most welcome. The other advantage to the Station house is the pool. Kids loved this and again made feel most welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank clodagh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Clodagh,

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Ronan Fahy,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing