We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
CT, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to visit Conamara and thought this would be a great starting point. The reception staff was helpful, the rooms were large but there was no air conditioning and the windows only opened 2 inches. We were very uncomfortable and the noise outside went well into the night. The shops attached to the hotel were all closed up. Location was good but overall a hot, uncomfortable stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 6inourfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    391
    106
    37
    16
See reviews for
466
461
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in station house hotel on mid week break last week. Hotel lovely and clean with friendly staff.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was lovely and no waiting to be seated but what i did notice at breakfast was a shortage of waiting staff.the girl.that brought us to our table was also cooking pancakes and clearing tables.Food was nice in station pub but would have liked to have seen a choice of potatoes and veg with the food rather then chips with a lot of things. Maybe offer roast beef /roast chicken potates on the menu.There is also a hairdressers in the courtyard which was a great bonus.lovely coffee shop also in courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A new looking hotel but all the stores at street level had gone out of business and after the dismal parade of "For Lease" signs, finally the entrance. Not an impressive introduction but the modern interiors and youthful staff lifted our spirits and we looked forward to checking in and exploring the town full of interesting shops, pubs and restaurants.
Our room was of the disabled access variety which had a lot of quirks but by no means the end of the world! That sensation would arrive during the night when the door slammers returned from the pubs and the legacy of cheap Irish construction ensured a restless night. Room to room acoustics and corridor to room acoustics were the worst we've experienced and although we tried to checkout without a disability the front of house staff attempted to stuff our bill with a supposed dinner. Producing a receipt from a restaurant in town convinced the lad he was
in error and we gladly skipped out of this fabricated blunder .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foghornleghorn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel recently. We found the staff very friendly and efficient. We had a junior suite which was very nice. We had one dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent. The choice for breakfast was very good too. The hotel location was convenient for walking into town which was nice to walk around. Would definitely stay at The Station House again.

Room Tip: If you can get a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel has wonderful amenities but sits on main road into town so we noticed the noise from road to be a bit loud. This hotel is very convenient to town. Neat clean and tidy. We were not displeased but not overwhelmed. Clifden is charming and close to many places to explore. we enjoyed our time in the area! We especially enjoyed our nites in Clifden, the music there is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCShelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My family (2kids and 2 adults) stayed 2 nights in hotel and it was lovely. Very family oriented would highly recommend for families. Lovely food for kids and adults. There were four of us and we only booked one room which was compact, next time I would book a connecting room just for space.

Room Tip: We needed a travel cot but I noticed there was no mattress which is a bit hard so I would ask if thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterfly186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife booked a two night stay at this hotel a week ago with us due to travel next week but unfortunately her mother passed away suddenly this morning which resulted in her having to cancel.
When I cancelled the booking I was informed that the deposit we had paid was non refundable and in my opinion considering the circumstances of the cancellation I think the attitude of the hotel is harsh and unsympathetic.
I certainly will not make a booking here in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan F, General Manager at Clifden Station House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear David,

Firstly we are genuinely sorry to hear of your recent family bereavement. We value our customers and always try and help in times of need.

In relation to your comments, We don't directly charge deposits when taking bookings over the phone or by email. The only deposits are taken online when booking through a 3rd party website, I feel this might have being the case in your situation, however given your circumstances I will ensure your deposit gets refunded. I would ask you to contact me directly at the hotel to get your issue rectified.

I apologies for the circumstances surrounding your complaint and I assure you I will address this on your behalf as soon as you contact me.

Kindest Regards,

Ronan Fahy,
General Manager.
ronan.fahy@clifdenstationhouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing