We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Getaway - base for touring Connemara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clifden Station House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short Getaway - base for touring Connemara”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fantastic location and central for touring the Connemara area. Hotel was very friendly and staff more than helpful, very friendly and not at all formal. Location is great, rooms very nice, clean and good standard. Spa and Leisure facilities are great, staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. Food was excellent both in the pub bistro and main restaurant. Loved the location away from main busy streets where there are lots of restaurants and bars/pubs with traditional music. So very quiet. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms were quite spacious with a double and single bed in the room. Rooms facing the inner courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank RovingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    395
    108
    37
    16
See reviews for
474
467
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a great hotel but it's not what we imagined to be a typically Irish accommodation. It reminded me more of an American hotel. Regardless, it has everything you need:
1. GREAT location
2. Excellent breakfast
3. Bar in the hotel.
4. Friendly helpful staff.

The town center is like a 2 or 3 minute walk from this hotel which is great. Also, there is a large bar / restaurant right outside the front door.

There are a lot of hotels in this town, especially in the town center. So, if you want something more quant and probably a bit less expensive, consider other options. However, if you are OK with a larger, less traditional hotel, this is a great place.

I would stay here again next time if I could not get more of a boutique / B&B accommodation right in town.

Make no mistake, you will be happy at the Clifden Station House hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We were very excited to visit Conamara and thought this would be a great starting point. The reception staff was helpful, the rooms were large but there was no air conditioning and the windows only opened 2 inches. We were very uncomfortable and the noise outside went well into the night. The shops attached to the hotel were all closed up. Location was good but overall a hot, uncomfortable stay

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 6inourfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in station house hotel on mid week break last week. Hotel lovely and clean with friendly staff.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was lovely and no waiting to be seated but what i did notice at breakfast was a shortage of waiting staff.the girl.that brought us to our table was also cooking pancakes and clearing tables.Food was nice in station pub but would have liked to have seen a choice of potatoes and veg with the food rather then chips with a lot of things. Maybe offer roast beef /roast chicken potates on the menu.There is also a hairdressers in the courtyard which was a great bonus.lovely coffee shop also in courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A new looking hotel but all the stores at street level had gone out of business and after the dismal parade of "For Lease" signs, finally the entrance. Not an impressive introduction but the modern interiors and youthful staff lifted our spirits and we looked forward to checking in and exploring the town full of interesting shops, pubs and restaurants.
Our room was of the disabled access variety which had a lot of quirks but by no means the end of the world! That sensation would arrive during the night when the door slammers returned from the pubs and the legacy of cheap Irish construction ensured a restless night. Room to room acoustics and corridor to room acoustics were the worst we've experienced and although we tried to checkout without a disability the front of house staff attempted to stuff our bill with a supposed dinner. Producing a receipt from a restaurant in town convinced the lad he was
in error and we gladly skipped out of this fabricated blunder .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foghornleghorn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel recently. We found the staff very friendly and efficient. We had a junior suite which was very nice. We had one dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent. The choice for breakfast was very good too. The hotel location was convenient for walking into town which was nice to walk around. Would definitely stay at The Station House again.

Room Tip: If you can get a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel has wonderful amenities but sits on main road into town so we noticed the noise from road to be a bit loud. This hotel is very convenient to town. Neat clean and tidy. We were not displeased but not overwhelmed. Clifden is charming and close to many places to explore. we enjoyed our time in the area! We especially enjoyed our nites in Clifden, the music there is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCShelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.3 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
258 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
274 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Station House

Property: Clifden Station House
Address: Galway Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifden Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clifden Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifden Station House Hotel Clifden
Clifden Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing