We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sally & Pat”

Connemara Heritage and History Centre
Ranked #12 of 28 things to do in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sally & Pat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Wonderful location, close to Clifden and many other sites to visit. Very interesting history, video and museum, tour to Dan O'Hara's cottage --- lots to do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On top of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Two kids and us we did the blue trail, hubby climbed all the way to the top, kids park is great and the two women in cafe were so lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Thousands of Years of Ireland History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our B&B hostess recommended this to us- and I am really pleased that she did. While the majority of tourists were quite a bit older than my family, I was thrilled that the guide included my girls in the discussions and answered their questions.

This is a great place to learn about the history of Western Ireland- from the Iron & Bronze Ages through the famine, you'll find recreations of dwellings and even artifacts.

Most come to hear the story of Dan O'Hara and to visit the small farmhouse where he and his family lived before being evicted during the famine. It's a sad tale, and one that is told in song (the Ballad of Dan O'Hara).

Even if your kids don't enjoy the history lesson, they will be intrigued by the hand-cut turf (peat), the farmyard chickens, Connemara ponies and Spot, the farm dog.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irishgrl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Pack your walking shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Well run visator center with 3 great walks lovley coffee shop well laid out lovley play area for the little ones well worth a visit on a fine day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Overview of the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Gained significant education about the area. Peat bogs, farming, timber, early settlers and more. the local history is fascinating and provides insight to the hardscrabble existence early residents had.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connemara Heritage and History Centre also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Heritage and History Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing