We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Facinating and Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Connemara Heritage and History Centre

Connemara Heritage and History Centre
Ranked #11 of 27 things to do in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Little Wakering
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Facinating and Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights a couple of days ago and the staff were wonderful. The location is stunning and the Heritage Centre is so interesting. The hotel is only minutes away from Clifden in the car, perfect a good night sleep away from the town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“awful customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stopped here on our trip to Connemara and could not have been more disappointed. Friends and our b&b had recommended a visit to this centre, so we gave it a try. Not a single of the 3 people working in the lobby asked us if we needed help, tickets, etc. We wandered around and looked for maps or directions and when we returned to the reception no one was to be found. Because of the weather and rain we did not explore further but feel that if people had been around to help we would have seen much more despite the weather.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NextWkndAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Go here before you explore Connemara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Provides excellent context to the area. Exhibits really orient the visitor to the inhabitants of this beautiful and sometimes tragic part of Ireland, beginning with thousands of years of archeology to pre-famine times. I only longed for more famine and post famine stories, to complete the picture of the area, but I expect that it's a matter of $$ to add to exhibits. Dan O'Hara's cottage helped put the exhibits and information into 3-D perspective. Enriched our experience in Connemara 10 fold because it added dimension to the history of this area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noazchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, bit confusing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Loved the way it was hidden from sight, found the footpaths and directions a bit confusing. Wish there had been places to sit where we could have viewed the water/stream/pond while others walked instead of wandering round and ending up at the tea shop again. however, a beautiful setting and enjoyable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trav10176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

stoped by the day before the visit to get information , was impresed by the information leaflet , train up to cottage , audion viual talk, animals to see such as donkeys , sheep, chickens and ponies, arived the following day , no animals avaible except a fue chickens , train pulled by tractor had the kids excited but was only being used for forigen tour groups , some very disapointed kids,
audio was good , small musem was intresting ,
overall very disapointing , asked at reception if we had gone to the wrong place to see the animals but was infored that they should be at the cottege which took 20 to walk to as train was for group,
she apoligised and that was it , would not go agin a waste of money and falsley advertised

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank catherina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connemara Heritage and History Centre also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Heritage and History Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing