We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastis, excellent a must stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #9 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
new york, NY
11
Reviewed 2 October 2004

It is the best place to stay in the west, the foyle girls were fab. Shinaid gave us great route notes for a hillwalking one day and set us up for horse riding on a wonderfull beach the next. The food was outstanding all home made simple and fresh the best we had in Ireland this trip thanks again Shinead. the sky rd area is so beautful we had to drag ourselves away from here, we even got to take one off the chocolate labs. for a walk "whisper". Its great as there staying open for the winter and hope to be back late jan to sit in front of those turfs fires and watch the waves break over the cliffs great place for storm watching. Thanks again for everything its great to see young blood going into the business and all the best with your first winter staying open great move girls. : )

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2004

We recently spent 2 nights, at Dolphin Beach with a couple of Australian friends.

The location and facilities were beautiful but what made it truly lovely was our hosts.

Clodagh and Sinaid were warm and welcoming, they went the extra mile to offer us a cup of tea, tell us about the local area, book a local masseur and make a dinner booking for us. Great Hostesses.

A charming few days.

1  Thank PhilippaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2004

We did not know when booking this place what a treasure it is. After staying our planned 2 nights, we stayed a third. The hospitality is unmatched anywhere in Ireland. The warm inviting peat fire, the excluded beach, the immaculate but comfortable rooms, the gracious and wonderful hostesses make this place a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: June 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishEyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore Md
11
Reviewed 14 October 2003

Comfortable, clean, well presented service.,and spacious roomsGreat location with easy beach access, pleasant walking area.Easy drive into Clifden for shopping and evening meals.Dolphins aplenty, sporting in the bay whilst we breakfasted.

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2003

Our family of 6 adults just returned from three wonderful nights at Dolphin Beach House. We were surprised that it was even better than we imagined. We were greeted by dolphins on the spectacular drive to the house, and enjoyed the remote location, the beautiful views, excellent walks, wonderful hospitality and food. Thank you Clodagh, Mrs. Foyle, and Billy. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serpentineuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Annapolis, MD
112
Reviewed 5 September 2003

It's expensive, not just compared to a hotel, but also for what you don't get - they were mean with complimentary products and the breakfast must be the smallest in Galway.

We were upset that the sandy cove turned out to be a rocky cove and the peacocks, dolphins and chickens mentioned in write-ups were absent during our week there.

Our room was a bit gloomy and didn't have a bath, although the bed was a good size and comfortable.

The guest house is also 3.5 miles out of Clifden, so you're at the mercy of local taxis in the evening.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Colorado, USA
1
Reviewed 5 February 2003

I stayed at the Dolphin Beach in September 2002. The setting is beautiful with great views of the ocean. Even the drive to the B&B was very scenic and enjoyable. Our hosts were very hospitable and made us feel right at home. I remember that the young girl helped us carry in our suitcase as it was obvious we were struggling. The Breakfast room also has spectacular views. Thank you Dolphin Beach! I have very good memories of my stay.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
473 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £35 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing