We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite top notch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphin Beach House
Ranked #9 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not quite top notch”
Reviewed 10 February 2007

Most expensive stay of our trip and probably the most disappointing considering how much it cost. It is pretty isolated which in itself should not be a problem if the rooms were up to scratch and if the beach were truely a beach! The people were nice but did not make up for what we expected,.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Jollygirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
113
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2005

By far the best B&B/guesthouse we stayed in in Ireland. Wonderful, welcoming hosts who made us feel like friends of the family, without being intrusive. The rooms were far more stylish and comfortable than you would expect at a b&b and complement the amazing surroundings. The Beach House is down the stunning Sky Road with fantastic views from our bedroom and the dining room. Although it is a few kms from Clifden town, we loved being away from it all as the hosts had lots of recommendations for walks, restaurants and activities in the surrounding area. We will DEFINITELY be back and would have no hesitation in recommending the place to people visiting the west coast of Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lottegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2005

My husband and I did not like this B&B at all. It reminded us of an American ski lodge complete with shoe echoing floorboards, loud voices and banging doors. Our room was horribly spartan for the money we paid (which was more than what we paid at Quay House in Clifden the night before).

We were definitely misled by the blurb on the Dolphin House website – the beach they describe is not a beach even by Irish standards and we saw not one dolphin, duck or chicken – let alone an opportunity to collect eggs for breakfast. In reality, we found ourselves forced to sit and wait ages while the breakfast room coordinator totally ignored us and chatted at length to a large group of American guests at another table who, incidentally, had finished eating. Unfortunately, there was nothing left on the 'help yourself' table - fruit, yoghurt etc - which we could have tackled to fill in time while waiting. When we were finally served what we each received was a very small mediocre cooked breakfast and a feeling of being a nuisance when we asked for coffee rather than the tea offered.

This B&B also lies some considerable distance (5 kms?) from the nearest town Clifden. The road is high, narrow and winding which (unless you are a local) is extremely tricky to drive on - making dining out at night difficult.

We have read with surprise the rave reviews for this place on Tripadvisor. Personally, we want more of the true Irish hospitality - which includes - better service, better breakfast and a lot more amenities for the money we paid. We definitely won’t be back.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
26 Thank CiaoMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2005

We had a wonderful time here. It was expensive but worth every euro. The room was really lovely and comfortable with a great view, a great bed and a great bathroom -- what more could you want? The food was very good -- nice twists on traditional Irish dishes. We had dinner with them one night also and it was excellent. We enjoyed the other guests -- almost everyone at the inn stayed for dinner and sat together after and shared wine and stories. Clodagh and Sinead were excellent hostesses -- they were knowledgable and helpful and joined in the fun when they had some down time -- they do a great job of blending Irish tradition with their own youthful casual flair. We felt like they were friends by the time we left -- and it seemed like everyone who stayed there felt the same way. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2005

The drive up the Sky Road is stunning, the scenery is wonderful but you do begin to wonder if you will ever arrive! (Dont worry it seems much shorter when you do it the second and third time!) The girls, Clodagh and Sinead, are great hosts, from the welcome tray of tea to the use of the binoculars to see if the dolphins were in the bay (they weren't!) The breakfasts were great and the homebaked soda bread the perfect start to the day. The views from the cliffs are spectacular and the night sky on a clear night is something we will always remember. We loved our time in Connemara and when we get a chance to go back we will certainly stay at the Dolphin Beach House. The bathrooms are lovely and the rooms are peaceful and comfortable. Take a good book and relax - we did.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2004

It is the best place to stay in the west, the foyle girls were fab. Shinaid gave us great route notes for a hillwalking one day and set us up for horse riding on a wonderfull beach the next. The food was outstanding all home made simple and fresh the best we had in Ireland this trip thanks again Shinead. the sky rd area is so beautful we had to drag ourselves away from here, we even got to take one off the chocolate labs. for a walk "whisper". Its great as there staying open for the winter and hope to be back late jan to sit in front of those turfs fires and watch the waves break over the cliffs great place for storm watching. Thanks again for everything its great to see young blood going into the business and all the best with your first winter staying open great move girls. : )

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2004

We recently spent 2 nights, at Dolphin Beach with a couple of Australian friends.

The location and facilities were beautiful but what made it truly lovely was our hosts.

Clodagh and Sinaid were warm and welcoming, they went the extra mile to offer us a cup of tea, tell us about the local area, book a local masseur and make a dinner booking for us. Great Hostesses.

A charming few days.

Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.0 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
3.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach House

Property: Dolphin Beach House
Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing