We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11 out of 10”
Review of The Quay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Quay House
Ranked #2 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Simply a fantastic stay!

The house is lovely and full of character, with an eclectic collection of art and antiques that will keep you entertained at every turn. The hospitality is some of the best that I have experienced anywhere. Nothing was too much trouble, and Paddy and Julia (and the pugs!) couldn't have made us feel any more welcome. I'm also not surprised they've won breakfast awards - it really is that good! The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was excellent, as was the fresh mackerel.

Thank you for an amazing couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhistlePunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Julia and Patrick were very welcoming indeed, and did not bat an eyelid when two gentlemen appeared at their front door wanting a double room. We got the fabulous 'Sky' room, which has the biggest bed we ever slept in and wonderful views over the harbour - the rooms with harbour views really are worth a little extra - it's just a wonderful thing to wake up to. Bedrooms are quirky and stylish, as are the welcoming communal spaces in the hotel.

The location is beautiful and we got the benefit of a rare warm and sunny Connemara evening. Julia recommended a walk down to the Boat Club, which was a stunning spot for a Guinness as we watched the sun disappear into the Atlantic. We also found good restaurants a short walk away in Clifden.

Breakfast was very good indeed, particularly great bacon and black/white pudding - very generous portions, an inviting buffet and a large cafetiere of coffee set us up for a whole day of exploring the area.

Overall, a very good stay and well worth the 150 Euros we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dksmith_york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had the sky room overlooking the harbor. The bed was huge and comfortable. The warm breakfast was good and lovely arranged. To the town centre it is only a short walk. We had difficulties in getting really warm water for a hot shower. But that is the only negative thing to say. The hosts are very welcoming.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! Words fail to describe the few days that we spent here, it was our 25th anniversary and what a welcome we received from a very personable hostess, a lovely lady with her guests interests at heart. Our African themed room lived up to its name with beautiful views overlooking the bay. The entire guest house was spotlessly clean and we felt at ease to come and go as we pleased and avail of the lovely relaxing living room. My husband requested wine an nibbles for when we arrived, which they happily provided, Julia had pre booked our evening meal at two fabulous restaurants which was only a short walk up to the town, and afterwards enjoyed music sessions in the welcoming friendly bars. At breakfast they certainly excelled, delightful food provided by a very talented chef in a plant and flower filled garden room! Attention to detail throughout made this a truly memorable experience and our thanks again to Julia and Paddy and not forgetting the resident pugs, love them!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatheri706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent five special nights at the Quay House in Clifden. What a fun and interesting place! The décor is varied from room to room. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Julia and Paddy are delightful innkeepers and very helpful. The breakfasts were delicious. The town of Clifden is within walking distance and has several nice restaurants. The Quay House served as an excellent base for our exploration of the northwest of Ireland.

Room Tip: A view of the harbor is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BallGroundCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here autumn 13 about three times overnight only.
I would rate the breakfast in this place as probably one of the finest I have had anywhere.
Looks like a great place for a romantic weekend. Eccentric stunning location very close to all amenities. Try the poached egg and smoked salmon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My partner and i were travelling the West coast of Ireland without an accommodation plan and ended up staying here with no prior research or consideration for our choice.

Well, what absolute serendipity that we ended up at The Quay House! Now i don't want to give it all away but this B&B is simply the most charming and delightfully idiosyncratic place i think i can ever recall staying (and i'm fortunate enough to be fairly well traveled).

Each room is themed in its own way and is a marvelous feast for the eyes and intellect. Naturalists and historians, in particular, should love it!

The view was glorious...see pics. Clifden is a beautiful and memorable place to visit in general.

Breakfast was wonderful - great food and just a a peaceful and rejuvenating experience sitting under creepers with the sunshine peeking through.

Service was gold standard - Paddy and Julia seem deeply and warmly invested in the business and committed to delivering a happy and relaxing customer experience.

We have since purchased gift vouchers for family members and will certainly be returning to The Quay House again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sierrajuliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
1.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.8 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay House

Address: Beach Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £124 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Quay House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing