We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is most spectacular in Inagh Valley”
Review of Derryclare

Derryclare
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Derryclare is a family run family friendly restaurant. We specialize in local seafood, Irish beef and Connemara lamb. We are open for lunch, dinner, coffee, cake and we guarantee the warmest of Irish welcomes.
Issoire, France
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What is most spectacular in Inagh Valley”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Three mounts wich don't look like the Twelve Bens beceause of the proximity of Lough Inagh. So nice pictures to take.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank casadei63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    60
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Republic of Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food- cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Nice seafood, great service- pasta pizza also very good. Recommended! Cosy relaxing atmosphere- prices very reasonable for such good quality.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Custardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expensive for what we received”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Called to the derryclare on a very wet aug. bank holiday Monday. Got a very nice seat by the window. It was very damp and miserable outside and the ambience inside didn't make it any better. The manager was pleasant but not very friendly. Ordered the cheeseburger and asked how do they prepare it? He informed me that it came well done? Slightly an understatement!!!!! It came very well done!!! My husband ordered the fish bake,to be fair it had lots of fish, but it resembled a chowder rather than a bake. On leaving the restaurant I did tell the manager that the burger was rather well done, and he informed me that he probably told him to do it extra well!!!! Maybe I should not have asked to begin with. My hubby thought the fish bake a little too pricey for what it was!!!! The other staff members did come to check on us on 2 occasions during our meal so the service was good. Next time we will just give it back. We didn't want to make a fuss!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nore784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Frankly Unimpressed”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Visited Derryclare on the bank holiday Monday and suffice to say the food was horrible and overpriced at that. We ordered the scampi and burger which were almost inedible. Also, I have to agree with the other poster regarding the toilets, which were not clean. Service was not particularly friendly either. Will not be returning.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neidelally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Owner at Derryclare, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We always appreciate when our customers take the time to write about their experience at our restaurant. However, it is unfortunate that Trip Advisor can be misused to air complaints that were not received by the restaurant at the time of the event. The burger and scampi dishes that we serve are two of our most popular. If they were served below our excellent standard that is something that we are very sorry for, but it is also something that could have easily been corrected. I do not know why this happened, but occasionally mistakes can be made. We have an excellent reputation and serve quality food. We would ask that in the future you let the staff of any restaurant know if you receive any meal that you are not happy with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland Derry City
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eat out”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Decided to go and have a pizza, great favour, only problem we got a large pizza each, which was too much would recommend one between two. Staff very friendly a bit expensive for pizzas

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaMcLoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee F, Owner at Derryclare, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for writing a review. The pizzas are on the large side and you definitely need a good appetite to finish one! Hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derryclare also viewed

 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Derryclare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing