We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”
Review of Clifden Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifden Bay Lodge
Ranked #21 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had two wonderful days at this B&B in Clifden! The place where the house is located is a perfect dream!! Ocean view out of the room and absolutely quiet! It was excactly that, what we was looking for! Unfortunately we had to leave after 2 nights, because we were traveling through Ireland.
Breakfast was great and the owners are very very friendly and helpful!!
We would come back at every time!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

my wife and I just returned from an easter break at clifden bay lodge and had a most enjoyable time. Fantastic views over the Bay and the Atlantic are unsurpassed.Charles and Frederique are wonderful hosts combining Connemara hospitality with Gallic charm and good cuisine. All in all a great relaxing few days complimented by lovely food and wine offerings at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: ask for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank punter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Positive:
- Great location, ocean view from bedroom and dining room.
- Friendly owner. We received great daily tour tips.
- Good breakfast.

Negative:
- Owner had a dog and a cat in the lobby.

Overall: it is great location if you want to explore Connemara.

Room Tip: Choose room with en-suite and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferencreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay in this nice house. Lovely walks along the coast and unspoilt quiet beaches. We had the French dinner which was delicious. Hosts were friendly. We really hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Our room was terrible. It faced the rear of the house looking out at an overstocked with junk garage. The bathroom was almost unacceptable with a small room furnished extremely poorly and no telly.

Even though the host were wonderful and the breakfast terrific the room experience at 80 Euro was overpriced, stuffy and not comfortable and I would not return if the overnight price was free.

There was no hot water, it was luke-warm, in the morning for our showers.

The location view was extremely nice but the property needs much work to make this a successful operation.

Room Tip: Do not accept the rear bedroom under any circumstance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 724Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Recently had the pleasure of staying in the Clifden Bay Lodge and it was fabulous. The Innkeepers, Charles and Frederique were so friendly and committed to making our stay comfortable and relaxing. le cave de Charles was an unexpected bonus and the lovely bottle of Bordeaux Charles suggested was excellent. Our room was large and comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the view spectacular.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bike-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sandyv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allaire, Owner at Clifden Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rockmount House
Rockmount House
#13 of 45 in Clifden
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seafield House
Seafield House
#18 of 45 in Clifden
87 reviews
2.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Bay Lodge

Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £74 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Clifden Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing