We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was the saving grace...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waterfront Rest B&B
Ranked #20 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Where to start...? In room upon arrival: only 2 teabags, 4 sugars, 2 packets of coffee, no milk, no TV, only one outlet far away from bed, no heat on in room, portable heater but was not on upon arrival.... hardly anything in bathroom, bathroom was cold n sterile looking, tiny shower.. Cash only policy..didnt know this.. No eating and no drinking alcohol in room house policies, early bfast (8:30 to 9:30) early checkout (10 am) and late checkin (5pm).. Just lacked hospitality.. Thank God for location.. Got some lovely pics..

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Marye1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterfront-rest, Propriétaire at Waterfront Rest B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

I am very sorry for you, but you speak about heating...there is heating everywhere in the house( 20 degres), remember the owner lives here all the year. And the mobile heating is just an extra for more confort!!!!
We provide all you need on the bathroom, shower gel, shampoo, towells... i don't understand the problem.
We provide all you need to prepare tea or coffee and i'am always here if you need something else or more. When your friend needed milk, i gave him imediately fresh milk.
You are worried about the check in and the check out but it's not a surprise,( like the Tv).... it is written on the description in booking.com....where you booked the bedroom.

I know we can't make happy everybody, but i am always polite and always happy to receive friendly customers at home....and thanks God, it will never change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We returned to this B&B after beeing here in 2012. It is a peceful pleace located on the beautiful Skyroad. The owner is very helpful and nice and the breakfast good. We surely will return!! This place is absolutely recommended for an overnight stay when travelling through Connemara.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubbleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Their host were really nice, welcoming and smiling. Our bedroom was well decorated, warm and the beds really comfortable. And the breakfast with the view on the sea was delicious and wonderful.

We can only recommand that place !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This B&B is a real mix of experiences. The location is great, the host is very friendly and helpful but a couple of things let it down in our stay. They may seem trivial but the competition in this market is fierce. The common walls are paper thin (honeymoon couples beware) there is no TV in each room (no problem for honeymoon couples) and the shower is below average in pressure and a low flow shower-head..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The B & B has a great location but the rooms do not stain any charm. The water shower invites not as dark colour (due to the turf).

Owners friendly and breakfast right.

But the worst were the mosquitoes. I began to notice an itchy soon after being outdoors admiring the fabulous scenery and I could see that I was literally covered with mosquitoes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Located in such and idyllic locations it was a wonderful and peaceful place. The french family who run the B & B were very accomodating and warm. Lovely breakfast, especially the prunes and bluberries which were delicious. The only nagative is the brownish colour of the water which runs from the local streams. Despite knowing its clean felt weird to have a wash in it. The bathrooms should really have shampoos and soaps but we had them so wasn't a problem but I can see that it may be a negative to others. The room was very large and spacious with very comfortable beds for all 4 of us.
Finding the place was very difficult however but they directed us all the way so we were able to make it. Sat nav does not seem to be able to find the place easily.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanchana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Location is what makes this B&B special. In the middle of nowhere, in front of the coast, quiet, with wonderful view and yet only 6 min drive from Clifden.

Accommodation is nothing special. Rooms are large but decorated with bad taste, bed sheets are inadequate and so are towels (1 medium size towel per person). The water flow in the shower is frustratingly low.

Breakfast is good, home-made, sufficient quantity and quality, choice between irish and continental breakfast.

Price is reasonable.

Overall, this is a poorly run B&B situated in a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clifden Bay Lodge
Clifden Bay Lodge
#18 of 45 in Clifden
71 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Rest B&B

Address: Derreen, Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £60 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notre B&B, est situe en plein coeur du Connemara sur l'Atlantic Way ( Sky Road Loop), les pieds dans l'eau, dans le baie de Streamstown. Bien que situe en pleine nature, nous ne sommes qu'a 5 minutes en voiture de Clifden, capitale du Connemara et a moins de 20 minutes du parc Nationnal et de l'Abbaye de Kylemore. Vous profiterez d'une magnifique vue sur la baie de toutes les chambres de la maison ainsi que de la salle a manger ou vous prendrez vos petits dejeuner face a l'eau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterfront Rest B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing