We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood restaurant”

Off The Square Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Price range: US$29 - US$36
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Switzerland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Seafood restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently had lunch at the Off The Square restaurant in Clifden. The seafood chowder and sandwich combo we had was quite good. The seafood chowder was very creamy and tasty. However service was poor, nobody seemed to care.

The menu list holds a nice selection of local seafood.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TightLoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    71
    26
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roundstone
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Cod with crispy coating. Delicate and moist inside. Just perfect. Have eaten suchlike in maybe 50+ Countries , but this wa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Cod Fish with crispy coating. Moist inside. Fresh. Wonderful texture n taste. Wow. Have eaten similar in maybe 50+ countries , but best ever. Fresh carrot n parsnip with a hint of ' country' in it. Creamy buttery mash potatoe. E10.00 only at Lunchtime. Wonderful taste n value. I salute this dish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a great seafood restaurant in clifden look no further. Recommend the crab claws, scallops, mussels.... In fact any seafood option is a good one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had lovely fish and chips here. Kids got them too and really enjoyed them. Good size portion and nice side salad.

Our waitress wasn't very friendly, she had such moody face. Rest staff seemed grand. Would love eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Focal-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

I visited here recently for breakfast. My partner and I had the full Irish. The people working here seen to be devoid of both training and personality. No basic rules of service were observed. The toast had a very mouldy taste, the beans were watery while I removed two long hairs from my plate. Some type of frozen wedges were also placed on the plate .. awful taste.This place needs a shake up. I won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritimoFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Off The Square Restaurant also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Off The Square Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing