We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music”
Review of J Conneely's Restaurant & bar - CLOSED

J Conneely's Restaurant & bar
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great music”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Talent of the musicians was off the charts! Found their CD in Dublin and brought it home. We 3 Banjo

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Felixa85044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A bit touristy on the music side but ok.”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visited here a couple of times recently but overall I found it to be a little average. The music is loud if you are sensitive to that ( I am not) and it certainly was engaging the tourists from other countries! I felt the music was very touristy and was not anything resembling Irish traditional but to be fair the band were very capable but most of the music sounded the same. The bar itself was not overly friendly at the bar no attempt to speak or engage and I felt it could be better on the visits we made. The beer was again very average and we moved to the bottles on the second visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great for music, just OK for food”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was a hard rating to give. I have eaten here a couple of times and had decent pub-style food, but the real reason to come here is for the music. Garry O'Meara, who is extemely talented on the banjo (he also plays guitar and sings) is a staple here, and he often has other very talented musicians accompanying him such as Fergal Scahill on fiddle. On a recent visit Fergal was off, but the fiddler from the group Grada was playing that night as well as two talented brothers, Stephen Doherty and Patrick Doocey. They were all awesome. In addition, Mick McNamara ("Mickey Mac") all-around entertainer, singer, joke-teller, spoon-player, you name it--is also in residence. It's a modern pub, pretty pleasant, with a terrace out back overlooking the river. You have to go down in the "dungeon" for the restrooms, so it's not handicapped-friendly. While the food might not be memorable, it's definately not bad. It's worth eating dinner here to save your seat for the music. Also unusual for pubs is two "showings" for the music, one at 6:30 and the other at 9:00. They are usually the same musicians with the same music for both, so if you don't want to stay up late, you can still hear some music. The performers usually have CD's for sale. Buy them. They're excellent, and a bargain at 10 euros. We always end up at this pub when we're in Clifden. We heard it's been sold, so here's hoping they don't make any drastic changes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent music - and atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived when the early music session was still on and had a very good meal and stayed right through to the end of the late session. Music top class - David Howley Garry O'Meara and Mick McNamara - and a few lovely dancers. Great Night

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fabulous Irish Music”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is an atmospheric pub in one of the main streets of Clifden. Caught some great Irish music featuring Fergal Scahill. What talent these guys have. Sensational!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GuitarmanBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J Conneely's Restaurant & bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing