We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pub”
Review of Griffin's Bar

Griffin's Bar
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Traditional Old Style Bar . Great Irish / Rock / Disco Music all through the week and a real local gem
Tipperary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice pub”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

great trad music there. nice clientele. nice porter. Good lively pub in the middle of the town always a place to meet people for the chat.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MossyMorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    65
    6
    2
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
“good food great music and atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we had great time staff were friendly and helpful and not touristy.would recommend to others.it is a very authentic bar big into there rugby and golf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridget h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Pig ignorant owner”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was in Clifden to see a band that were playing in the bar here, staff working there are all lovely and pleasant.. I'm a smoker and the smoking room was bang on.. The band rocked the place and the atsmophere was great until the owner made his presence felt... I have never in all my life met a man so ignorant and rude and it's beyond me how there is any customers at all. We were there from 8:30, the band finished up about oneish and a dj came on and finished at bout 1:50 am, no bells to say it was the end of the night.. No turning on and off lights to let customers know.. This man started roaring at people and taking drinks .. Shouting get out get out, pushing people .. My own mother who is 59 and 5ft nothing was grabbed by the arm and pushed outside the door. He was so rude it was actually unbelievable, his excuse was there is a new sergeant in town and was clamping down on late night drinking. This maybe the case but I'm sorry there is a right way of doing things and this is not one of them. He actually ruined our night and I'm afraid I would never recommend this place to anyone. Hats off to his wonderful pleasant staff if it wasn't for them this place would be closed down ...:(

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Shazzasharrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doolin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Once in a lifetime”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Like the title says, our night at griffins is one I will never forget. My girlfriend and I were treated like friends and family as soon as we sat down. Traditional Irish music, live poetry from Mr. Dunn, and some improv from the regulars all washed down with some cold Guinness. Don't miss the place if you are in Clifden! You will not forget this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Ireland!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had the best time at Griffin's. John, the bartender, was our friend by the end of our two day visit. We met the owner, who gave us great info about the area and the places we were traveling to next. The musicians were wonderful. We never ate the food, but the drinks were perfect! There is charming patio out back for smoking. Or sit at the front picnic tables and watch the Clifden life go by. Wish I were there now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Griffin's Bar also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Griffin's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing