We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Connemara Hamper

Connemara Hamper
Ranked #19 of 33 Restaurants in Clifden
Price range: US$6 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout
Description: Telephone: +353 (0) 95 21054E-Mail: info@connemarahamper.com
Berwickshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Best cooked ham I have tasted this side of my kitchen. And fab bread too. They have a deliberately modest selection of produce but everything that they do is of tip-top quality. I just love getting bread, cheese and ham from there and making the best lunch imaginable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank makethetea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
325 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Maybe we were out of season, but stocks were low. However, the cheese we bought was especially nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fairtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best picnic take away ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stopped on our way to the beautiful Connemara national park for a picnic lunch! Was greeted by very helpful lady who offered local advice on routes and even weather! We had two amazing local cheese baguettes which she recommended to us - they were delicious fresh bread, tasty cheese, fresh salad and a yummy combination of pickles! Would highly recommend friendly staff helpful and excellent sandwich makers!! Thanks very much!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripgem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing lunch and best coffee in clifden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Was in clifden over the festive period and a drop into the Connemara Hamper is always top of my list, the ham n cheese wrap with the works is a must,,,(louise makes the best but we won't tell eileen or leo that)!! most amazing selection of cheese (all irish) and great place to pick up organic champs n wines!! CANT WAIT TO RETURN

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frisky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The un-restaurant food emporium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Starving for lunch, we descended on the Connemara Hamper like ravaging wolves. The owner and her side kick made wonderful sandwiches and we bought several selections of yummy cheeses. While we were snooping through the drinks cabinet, a customer inquired for a toilet. The sandwich maker barked, "This is not a restaurant." And it isn't. But in case you are tired and your feet hurt, there is a little table tucked in the window with a few folding chairs hanging around which, if empty, ( it seldom is ), you can sit down while you contemplate your tourist maps. If you want to eat your freshly made ham and cheese sandwich garnished with pickle and tomato and watch the pedestrians stroll by, nobody objects. You have to clean up your place though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connemara Hamper also viewed

Clifden, County Galway
 
Clifden, County Galway
 

Been to Connemara Hamper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing