We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I miss Ireland”
Review of Ardmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardmore House
Ranked #4 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I miss Ireland”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the first B&B we stayed in. It was not the first B&B I contacted from the USA about what they had to offer guests. We stayed 2 nights. It was a beautiful home, wonderful hosts, it over look the ocean, the breakfast was perfect. We were here in July 2011.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room, very large, that fit 2 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
173
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about this beautiful B&B!! We traveled across the country for our honeymoon and this was easily our favorite place to stay. Our room was so lovely - immaculately clean, furnished with updated fixtures/finishes, and very spacious! It really felt luxurious. The owners were so welcoming and helpful - they were more than understanding when we arrived late, and they were so accommodating without being over-bearing. They were so kind and offered us some great insight about local sites. The breakfast was wonderful and we felt very comfortable. Now, all of this was so wonderful in itself, but our favorite part was the serene setting and cliff walk. They have a private trail they have created to walk out to the ocean, which was one of my favorite experiences. We could have spent hours walking right along the bluffs, and I wish we had reserved more time to do just that. I still hold these images in my memory for those days when I need to go to my "happy place"...We highly recommend Ardmore and hope to have the opportunity to return someday!

Room Tip: We booked early and requested the King room, which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadeyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and we were delighted to make your honeymoon enjoyable we would love to have you both return to Ardmore in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Spent our 35th wedding anniversary here. Can't praise it enough. Just immaculate. Very friendly. King size bed. Spacious room with sitting area. Had mountain view from our large window. Large bathroom with tub and shower. Very comfortable beds with either thin or fuller pillows available, depending on your preference, computer in common area free, good wifi connection, manicured and well-landscaped lawn. Had hair dryer, soap & shampoo dispensers, great shower power. Almost every amenity was available-could use microwave, refrig, wine glasses, dishes, iron-all in common area off hallway. Washcloths in room. B&B on Lower Skye Road which is gorgeous. Room had shades and window treatments that were light blocking. Very well decorated throughout. Cash only. Delicious breakfast was served 8-9:30. Self serve (cereals, juices, coffee, tea, breads, fresh fruit, numerous jams, jellies, peanut butter, toast) along with choice of cooked breakfast. Highly recommend the 10 minute walk to the water on their property. Wished I could have posted the beautiful photos from the walk but the file is too large.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WImom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us your kind word makes it all worth while
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

... I can highly recommend going for the pancakes with blueberries when choosing your breakfast!! This was my second time staying on Sky Road, but first time in Ardmore House. The location is around 15 mins drive from Clifden town at narrow but very scenic roads! Views over the Atlantic from the house. Service was excellent. Good dinner options in Clifden.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review it is very much appriciated we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return to Ardmore house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Md
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Four of us stayed at the Ardmore House in September after traveling throughout Ireland, and we all agreed that it was our favorite B&B in our travels. We were greeted by Kathy who was so incredibly warm and welcoming from beginning to end. She made us feel right at home, and she had even made reservations for dinner at her favorite restaurant in town with the assurance that she could cancel them if we did not want to go. John had created a wonderful walking path down to the water that gave us an incredible view of the water for miles. The rooms were big, the beds were wonderful, the breakfast was fantastic. The only reason I gave this terrific B&B a 4 star instead of 5 is that it is located about 10-15 minutes out of town on an extremely narrow road that we did not want to navigate on our own at night. That meant a taxi ride of 15 euros plus tip each way to go into town for the evening. It was worth it to us, but something to consider when planning the trip. The driver was prompt and available for us whenever we needed to return, so it was absolutely no hassle to take the taxi, just an additional expense. All in all, we loved the Ardmore and loved all of the attention from Kathy and John.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review I hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I statyed at the Ardmore house and it was so wonderful. Small little road leading there but the GPS coordinates get you right there and it's on Lower Sky Road with the most amazing views. Very comfortable with ensuite bathroom, and the hosts were fantastic. Great breakfast, great hosts, great home...I will be going back. And the little town of Clifden is so charming. I miss it already.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoolsinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for the lovely review it was very thoughtful of you I hope you will come back to visit us again.

Kind regards

John and Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrived late and the road leading to Ardmore is very narrow .. so it was quite nervous driving in the darkness in the middle of the rainy night .. but the GPS coordinate given by Ardmore is perfect .. it brought us right to the house .. parking was not an issue at all

John was very kind enough to wait for us .. greeted us with a smile .. and immediately brought us to our rooms .. the moment we entered our rooms .. we were amazed at the size of the room .. the size of the bed .. they were so big .. the whole place is so clean .. the bathroom is beautiful and very spacious ..

Breakfast was good .. Kathy was very friendly, very helpful and very nice .. she showed us the private path to the cliff .. it was short walk to the cliff .. through garden and pond .. and the view of the cliff, the ocean was breathtaking ..

All in all .. our first trip to Ardmore was really great .. we enjoyed it very much .. thanks to John and Kathy .. hope to see you two again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOERIZAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Owner at Ardmore House, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review we really appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.5 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: Sky Road Clifden Galway | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approved to Failte Ireland Standard. Awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Recommended in best B&B Guide to Ireland. Free Wi-Fi available in bedrooms. Free Internet access in lounge. Ardmore House is set on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean amid rugged landscape. 5Km. West of Clifden Town, it is a small holding stretching from the upper Sky Road to the lower Sky Road and on out to the cliffs locally known as the Slopers. Here we have made a walkway for our Guests. The views from the cliffs of Clifden Bay and the Atlantic Ocean are some of the best you'll find in the Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing