We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ardmore House
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$198
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alcock & Brown Hotel(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
US$428
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$45
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
325
11
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
11
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate paththe cliffsky roadb bwonderful hostslily pondnarrow roadbeautiful walkpancakesbreakfast was deliciousbeautiful locationour room was spaciousthe atlantic oceanshort walkwest coast of irelandconnemara national parkwonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Perhaps the most memorable things about this B&B are the sunsets. Kathy and John are wonderful hosts with great recommendations and knowledge of the Connemara area. Roads are not intimidating if you drive slowly and carefully. Not a big deal. We stayed here two days and well worth it as we visited the Connemara National Park and hiked the Diamond Hill. Beautiful country and the place "The Quiet Man" was made. Absolutely beautiful country and wonderful people. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

John and Kathy are the most incredible hosts ever ! Although the ride to the B &B might seem too far from the town center, it's worth it! The place is absolutely spotless and so comfortable! Their breakfasts are indescribably delicious from the eggs, black & tan pudding and pancakes! A short walk to a breath taking view of the Ocean! Our second time there in 3 years ! Wish we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senorita955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived in Clifden after a long drive from Kenmare and then took the road to the Ardmore House. The road is intimidating at first! Its narrow with a goodly drop off down to the ocean on one side and few guardrails. The views are well worth overcoming your fears and by the third or fourth time you drive it, you'll feel like an old pro.

That being said, if you're arriving in the evening, grab a bite to eat in Clifden before you take the Sky Road.

Kathy and John are wonderful hosts who have provided lovely and clean rooms in a gorgeous setting. As everyone else has said, take the wonderful walking path.

They are happy to give you advice, if you want it, chat about politics, or laugh with you about your day's adventures (such as accidentally driving on a footpath).

Breakfast is very good. I highly recommend the hot chocolate; it was like drinking a chocolate bar! The best hot chocolate I had in Ireland!

And they are conveniently located near Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park. Take the lovely drives that Kathy recommends, we enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhatDianesReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the first B&B we stayed in. It was not the first B&B I contacted from the USA about what they had to offer guests. We stayed 2 nights. It was a beautiful home, wonderful hosts, it over look the ocean, the breakfast was perfect. We were here in July 2011.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room, very large, that fit 2 people!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I cannot say enough positive things about this beautiful B&B!! We traveled across the country for our honeymoon and this was easily our favorite place to stay. Our room was so lovely - immaculately clean, furnished with updated fixtures/finishes, and very spacious! It really felt luxurious. The owners were so welcoming and helpful - they were more than understanding when we arrived late, and they were so accommodating without being over-bearing. They were so kind and offered us some great insight about local sites. The breakfast was wonderful and we felt very comfortable. Now, all of this was so wonderful in itself, but our favorite part was the serene setting and cliff walk. They have a private trail they have created to walk out to the ocean, which was one of my favorite experiences. We could have spent hours walking right along the bluffs, and I wish we had reserved more time to do just that. I still hold these images in my memory for those days when I need to go to my "happy place"...We highly recommend Ardmore and hope to have the opportunity to return someday!

Room Tip: We booked early and requested the King room, which was perfect!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jadeyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArdmoreHouse, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for the lovely review and we were delighted to make your honeymoon enjoyable we would love to have you both return to Ardmore in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews