We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect destination on the West Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardmore House
Ranked #4 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect destination on the West Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Admore House just outside of Cliffden is the perfect destination when traveling along the west coast of Ireland. Kathy and Jon were great hosts. As soon as we arrived, Kathy showed us to our room which had a great view of the cliffs. The room was spacious, neat, and every room has its own bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the smoked salmon over scrambled eggs. The walk along the cliffs just outside the B&B were breathtaking. The road to the B&B was fairly narrow but if taken slow it's a lovely drive. If we ever venture from Canada to the west coast again, we would definitely stay at the Admore House

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
170
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

You can believe all the nice things said about this place! Kathy & John take pride in everything they do, and it shows. Our room was large, spotless, modern, and tastefully decorated. Breakfasts were superb! Do take a stroll down the private walkway they have built that leads to the cliffs, as it is indeed a welcome bonus. The drive between Clifden and their B&B is simply breathtaking. You will be hard pressed to do better than this B&B in all of Ireland!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PortlandRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Simply the best B&B we've been.

Great family welcome.
Great view.
Great room, shower...
Great breakfast.
And they have a private trail to cliffs near the ocean...

All other reviews are right. This couple is amazing and you will enjoy every moment you are there.

Andrey & Sagit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My brother and I stayed in the Ardmore House for one night in May 2014 and it has been by far the best B&B we have experienced during our trip through Ireland. The location is breathtaking as the house overviews the ocean. Very easy to reach by road, 5 mins drive away from Clifden.
At our arrival we were greeted very friendly and received the keys to our room. The twin room was huge, calm, cosy and we enjoyed a wonderful view to the Ocean. Beds were comfortable, bathroom spotless with a large amount of towels.
The breakfast was delicious with a great menu. We tried the traditional irish breakfast, which was superbe. In addition to the menu, there is a broad choice of cereals, jams, Joghurt and Fruits. All in all, I can only highly recommend the Ardmore house.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CCL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Perhaps the most memorable things about this B&B are the sunsets. Kathy and John are wonderful hosts with great recommendations and knowledge of the Connemara area. Roads are not intimidating if you drive slowly and carefully. Not a big deal. We stayed here two days and well worth it as we visited the Connemara National Park and hiked the Diamond Hill. Beautiful country and the place "The Quiet Man" was made. Absolutely beautiful country and wonderful people. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

John and Kathy are the most incredible hosts ever ! Although the ride to the B &B might seem too far from the town center, it's worth it! The place is absolutely spotless and so comfortable! Their breakfasts are indescribably delicious from the eggs, black & tan pudding and pancakes! A short walk to a breath taking view of the Ocean! Our second time there in 3 years ! Wish we could have stayed longer !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorita955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived in Clifden after a long drive from Kenmare and then took the road to the Ardmore House. The road is intimidating at first! Its narrow with a goodly drop off down to the ocean on one side and few guardrails. The views are well worth overcoming your fears and by the third or fourth time you drive it, you'll feel like an old pro.

That being said, if you're arriving in the evening, grab a bite to eat in Clifden before you take the Sky Road.

Kathy and John are wonderful hosts who have provided lovely and clean rooms in a gorgeous setting. As everyone else has said, take the wonderful walking path.

They are happy to give you advice, if you want it, chat about politics, or laugh with you about your day's adventures (such as accidentally driving on a footpath).

Breakfast is very good. I highly recommend the hot chocolate; it was like drinking a chocolate bar! The best hot chocolate I had in Ireland!

And they are conveniently located near Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park. Take the lovely drives that Kathy recommends, we enjoyed them all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatDianesReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
3.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
3.5 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: Sky Road Clifden Galway | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardmore House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approved to Failte Ireland Standard. Awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Recommended in best B&B Guide to Ireland. Free Wi-Fi available in bedrooms. Free Internet access in lounge. Ardmore House is set on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean amid rugged landscape. 5Km. West of Clifden Town, it is a small holding stretching from the upper Sky Road to the lower Sky Road and on out to the cliffs locally known as the Slopers. Here we have made a walkway for our Guests. The views from the cliffs of Clifden Bay and the Atlantic Ocean are some of the best you'll find in the Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing