We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”
Review of Ardmore House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardmore House
Ranked #3 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lucky find”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were driving past Ardmore House and called in on the off-chance they had a vacancy, and they did! What a lovely surprise - friendly owners, large bed, spacious room with a sitting room area, good views, good breakfast and great walks. And great value for money. One night was not enough. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
187
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Ardmore is a beautiful B&B -- the scenic location and view more than make up for the short drive from town on narrow Sky Road. Our room was spacious and luxurious with a view to the coast. One of the quietest B&Bs we have experienced. Breakfast was superb -- best smoked salmon and eggs we have tasted. Kathy and John are excellent hosts. Our only regret was that we arrived late and had to leave early to catch the ferry to Aran Islands, and so we couldn't enjoy all the B&B had to offer. This would be the perfect spot for a 2-3 day get-away-from-it-all stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montereytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Kathy and John were wonderful hosts, the room was spotlessly clean and a great size, breakfast was excellent with a vast range of foods, jams marmalades etc. wonderful location quite and peaceful with a cliff walkway. Could not have asked for more well deserved award and I am sure more to come

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StezC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Immaculately clean, a friendly welcome, a roomy, a quiet comfortable room, and a good breakfast. Need one say more? Yes, no sea view, but there is a private walk from the guest house to the cliffs. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ardmore house is a bit out on a limb but don't let that put you off. Sky road which leads to it is narrow but cars coming the other way are courteous and careful. (When we drove it at least)
If you don't want to drive the 5K (3 miles) back into Clifden for the evening then get organised, buy some food for a picnic and eat at the house.
There are glasses and crockery etc made available for you and there is also a fridge and microwave for guests to use. We wished we had done this but instead ate in town, drove back and enjoyed a glass of wine from the bottle we'd put in the fridge earlier.
Our room (3) was huge, it is actually a family room but there was only the 2 of us. We had a super king size bed which was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but perfectly usable. The shower was good.
We were greeted by Kathy and made to feel very welcome then had a chat to John outside who was just off to take water to the lovely ponies in the field nearby.
The thing that struck me about the property was how clean everywhere was, not just clean at a glance but spotless EVERYWHERE! All credit to them, they must work very hard to keep up such high standards.
The private path down to the cliff top is great, passing a doughnut shaped pond and having picnic tables it's the perfect place to sit and enjoy the view in peace.
The cliff top walk has a few places where, if you are like me, it's too close to the edge for comfort but John suggested getting through the fence for those bits, ( I never thought of that!)
Breakfast was lovely, I opted for pancakes which came with strawberries, maple syrup and a squirt of cream. The pancakes were the traditional crepe style, (not American style) and were hot and delicious, I'll book Kathy in for Shrove Tuesday next year at my house!
Perfection!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast! The rooms are very spacious, clean, and well furnished. It has the feel of a five-star hotel with all the comforts of home. Kathy made us feel so welcome and at ease. We stayed at six bed and breakfasts during our trip around Ireland, and this was one of our absolute favorites. We needed to do laundry and Kathy helped us get in touch with the laundry services in Clifton, so we could drop the laundry off on our way to the bed-and-breakfast and pick it up first thing the next morning. This bed-and-breakfast is not far from Clifton, and you will drive right by the beautiful Clifton Castle on your way. Do not miss their private walk to the cliffs. It is not to be missed! If you're getting tired of pub food at this point, I would highly recommend you stop at a grocery in Clifton and grab a picnic to eat on the cliffs. The breakfast was excellent! I would love to have the opportunity to stay here again. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our family stay at Ardmore was excellent. The location was beautiful and so were our rooms. Breakfast was great, with good portions and many choices. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating to our every need. We enjoyed our walks out to the cliffs and during our first afternoon we witnessed a double rainbow that was very vividly colored! If you are planning a trip to Clifden, Connemara National Park or Kylemore Abbey, this is a great place to stay, it is located close to all of them. Driving the Upper Sky Road was a treat and gave us a view of the area that was amazing! If we are able to make a return trip to Ireland we will definitely book another stay with Kathy and John at Ardmore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
288 reviews
3.1 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
2.4 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
364 reviews
3.4 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: Sky Road Clifden Galway | Connaught, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approved to Failte Ireland Standard. Awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Recommended in best B&B Guide to Ireland. Free Wi-Fi available in bedrooms. Free Internet access in lounge. Ardmore House is set on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean amid rugged landscape. 5Km. West of Clifden Town, it is a small holding stretching from the upper Sky Road to the lower Sky Road and on out to the cliffs locally known as the Slopers. Here we have made a walkway for our Guests. The views from the cliffs of Clifden Bay and the Atlantic Ocean are some of the best you'll find in the Country. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing