We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Clifden Station House(Clifden)(Great Value!)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$314
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
229
46
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
46
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssewing kitpeat firesample menusshort walkpancakeshomemade breadnice sizetea and cakea great place to stayon arrivalwarm welcomeexcellent breakfastrooms are spaciousexcellent locationguest houseclifden townfull irish
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Nice guesthouse. Clean, quiet. Beds are a bit hard for my taste but warm and with nice bedding. Breakfast had several choices to choose from and the dinner recommendations were excellent. Excellent area and lots to do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ML7kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We arrived at Buttermilk Lodge guest house following suggestion of a B&B owner in Killarney. What a charming guest house with very nicely decorated rooms impeccable cleanliness and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Cathriona and Patrick were most gracious as owners. Cathriona was most helpful in directing us to the area which is just breathtaking. The guest house was within walking distance to the centre of the very charming town of Clifdern.The breakfast was fantastic as was the service. Cathriona was kind enough to suggest and reserve accomodations at our next destinations. Buttermilk Lodge Guest House is a winner, we suggest strongly to travellers to visit this beautiful area and this unique and warm guest house.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Buttermilk Lodge. It was a great location with easy access to town. We received a warm welcome and the owners had lots of information and maps if you needed them.
The breakfasts were very nice. The rooms were a nice size and we had everything we needed. We had afternoon tea at Walshes Bakery, very good and dinner at Mannions which was also good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Clifden and its surrounds are so delightful and this B&B is one of the best we have experienced over many years. We were greeted with afternoon tea in a cosy sitting room and there was lots of information available for walks and dining. Our room was spacious with superb views and had everything we needed. Breakfast was sensational and the services for washing and cleaning like a classy hotel. It is a beautiful B&B run in a very professional manner. Highly recommend. Only one negative - we felt the room was a bit cluttered as we like space to put things. We were travelling for two months so needed places to put our things.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

A great place to stay, delicious breakfast and comfortable rooms. When we arrived we were offered tea and cake and a folder with all the menus for the local restaurants and pubs, their location on a map and when they had live music. In the room there was a folder of local walks and a booklet on walks in Connemara. A packed lunch can be ordered for the next day and there is a drying room which luckily we didn't need. A five minute walk takes you into the town. The friendly owners are a wonderful source of information. Highly recommended but you need to like collectible cows, thank goodness I didn't have to do the dusting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueS506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews