We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
2 reviews
“Terrific B&B”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We absolutely loved this place. Great location to tour from.
The room was beautiful, friendly and hospitable hosts and a great breakfast. Would go back again if I could.Stay here, it would be hard to find better to explore the western coast of Ireland,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabinemaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
134
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A great location, the room was excellent and as others have mentioned the breakfast was exceptional. Host very welcoming and had lost of information on the local area. This was a very relaxing 3-day break and I would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to travel to this part of Ireland.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The o'Toole's were very hospitable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Highly suggest others to enjoy a stay here. There is no pool or swimming pool but I couldnt seem to enter the review without clicking something. This was not imp to us though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here only for one night on our recent 8 day tour of Ireland. Location was fantastic, room was superb, breakfast out of this world, (my wife voted the porridge as the best ever), hosts were congenial and very attentive to our needs. A pity that we couldn't stay longer as this B&B rates very highly alongside the others we stayed at. A very homely establishment close to Clifden town and all other nearby attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWISH326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very comfortable accommodation at the Buttermilk Lodge. It was a 5 minute walk to town. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsBicep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have stayed at this great guesthouse 6 times since 2007, and it feels like our home in Clifden. Although it is set up like a very small hotel, with a check-in desk and all, it's much more intimate than that. Pat and Catriona O'Toole do a fine job of making you feel at home. Pat will bring you tea and some homemade sweet bread when you arrive, and you can take it in the front parlour in front of a warm turf fire. He will make dinner reservations for you in town (try Mitchell's Seafood Restaurant). Every day in the foyer you can see what the weather forecast is, and which pubs have traditional Irish music in the evening. It's a 10 minute walk or so into Clifden if you need some exercise. The rooms are dependably nicely done and clean. Upstairs there is a sitting area with a computer for guests to use. For breakfast, in addition to the traditional Irish breakfast you can also get thin crepe-like pancakes with fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, homemade breads, yogurt, cheeses and meats, as well as a daily special. The daily special I had when I was there was a bagel with cream cheese, smoked salmon, lemon, onions and capers. You might also get offered fish cakes or a salmon dish for breakfast. One great service they offer is laundry service for 15 euros. It's well worth it. We used to take our clothes to a laundry in Clifden that costs 3 euros less. But then we had to worry about getting back before the laundry closed, etc., if we had plans for the day. At Buttermilk Lodge you just drop your laundry bag off at the front desk and it's in your room by the time you get back. The convenience is worth the extra 3 euros. They also offer a discount in rates if you stay two days or more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Exceeded my expectations! Staff were very friendly and helpful. About a five minute walk from the town using the shortcut-map included in room! Room was extremely clean and had lovely touches...sewing kit, chocolate on pillow, walking maps, all toiletries you'd need even bath salts! Shower pressure wasn't great. Breakfast was delicious and very well presented. Great selection even gluten free cereals available. I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.3 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 45 in Clifden
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm,friendly home from home located just 400 meters, 5 minutes walk from the town center. Purpose built ,Spacious, quality accommodation at affordable prices, WiFi throughout the house. There is a computer with broadband internet access and a printer for guests use. Our extensive breakfast menu offers numerous choices to suit every taste ! Visit our Connemara Ponies and Black-face sheep on our farm nearby.Pat is a qualified walking guide and can help you in planning your walks in the area.Packed Lunches, early breakfasts,laundry service, drying facilities are all available.Our little extra touches ensure return visits ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing