We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifden Camping and Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a beautiful campsite, it is lovely and relaxing and beautiful scenery for short walks. Showers are free and hot all day long and there is free wifi. It is well worth a visit if touring this area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crowleyprojects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location for travelling around connemara. Very good sites for both camper vans and tents. Showers and toilets spotless. Showers always hot and included in price. Lovely atmosphere and ideal for families and is very quite at night. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful, efficient and create a relaxed atmosphere. Felt like a little part of France with a large volume of French tourists staying here. Will return.
Oliver, Dublin.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautifully situated, very large pitches if you have a big tent. The camping itself has nice shelters (flowers, little trees). We stayed here for 4 nights and the owners were very helpful to us (even drove us to a garage 15 km from the camping site when we had car troubles).There is no washing machine but you can have your wash done and dried by the owners. The showers are great, hot all day and they are for free which is good service we think. Connemara is so much worthwhile visiting when you're in Ireland, we loved the stay here the most of our stays in western Island (and so we did Dingle).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jan Piet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at this camping ground with friends for 4 nights July 24th to 28th. The site is fantastic. Piping hot clean showers,clean toilet facilities,clothes laundered,good on-site shop,breakfast breads etc can be ordered the night before and collected at reception each morning. Clifden is 5 minutes away. I would give this place the definite thumbs-up!!

Room Tip: Avoid sites too near to the trees-the flies are a problem there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Der48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This campsite is really great!! The campsite and the bathroom are really clean. The owners are really nice, helpfull and welcoming. I have a great time in Clifden town wich is close to the campsite (20 min by walk).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for bank holiday weekend. We were unlucky with the weather. .. The campsite is a short distance from the town of Cliffden. Near the Sky road which is a nice drive. .. Also a nice drive to Omey island.
The site is a good size and there is a large area as well as many little areas to settle in. We went up on a high area and this may be not great in bad weather. Grounds are well landscaped however the bushes are full of insects and we got lots of bites... Bring repellent. ... jungle formula is alway
s good and perhaps candles. .. family live on site. There are separate toilets for ladies and gents... 2 cubicles only seemed to be working in ladies.... The first night toilet paper was missing in ladies which was not good and water is brown from taps... shower room is both women n men with four showers with no shortage of hot water...
There is a long shed that can be used to cook with own cooking equipment and gas. There is also a room with seating and pool table.
Taxi needs to b booked and often takes 30 mins plus to wait... if u leave early taxis in Cliffden square but later when busy be sure to have a number.... great music in pubs in Cliffden

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TipperaryGirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a family run campsite located 2 kilometre from Clifden in west of Ireland. Very friendly and helpfull owners. Facilities are good but could do with some small improvements 1. Lights not working in wash up area although provided were not working 2. No shelves or hook in showers. 3. Lights in parking area' s not turned on , very dangerous at night time .
The road leading up to campsite from main road is very narrow and not in great condition, but can be navigated without great difficulty.
Cost for motorhome for 2 adults with electricity €22.00 per night

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandCWmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
5.8 mi away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
5.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
2.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Camping and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Camping and Caravan Park

Address: Shanakeever, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Price Range: £8 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clifden Camping and Caravan Park, Connemara we've welcomed camper vans and tents since 1983. Our emphasis is on a friendly and helpful welcome for a relaxing, interesting stay in Clifden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing