We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clifden camping and caravan park shanakeever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifden Camping and Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

just back from great weekend in clifden camping caravan park shanakeever it was absoloutely beautiful i would highly recomend it . the area was spotless the showers and toilets were spotless and hot every time the people were very helpful and we felt very safe in the camping site we will be going back next year it a gem of a place.Tina keyes headford

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Clifden Camping and Caravan Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was a nice campsite. Not too big but plenty of space for tents, so we didn't feel too crammed in. It was a little difficult to find a large enough bit of ground for our tent, but we slept so that our heads were at the top of the slope so it was fine.

The showers were clean and free which was a real bonus. They sell a few bits and pieces in the reception which is handy and we bought a bottle of water for 80 cents which we thought was very reasonable as they could have charged the earth for it if they wanted to.

The location is good as you're not far from Clifden or Connemara National Park and it was easy to get to everywhere we wanted to go.

There wasn't much atmosphere in the campsite, but that's being super picky. The only real draw back if you like was the flying ants and little midges. Apparently they get loads in June and September, so we got off lightly, but it wasn't pleasant having them flying and crawling all around the top of the tent and getting inside our tent too. But that's nature, so you really can't do much about it!

We'd probably stay here again if we go back to Connemara.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesscalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

One of the best sites I have ever stayed in Ireland, Scotland, Wales, England and Australia.
The ground is soft for tents and it was difficult to find a level pitch for our very large tent, but having said that, I would love to go back.
The weather was variable from very heavy rain to blazing hot sunshine which did not spoil our holiday as there was lots to see and do nearby.
Yes, the water is brown but very drinkable and does not taste of horrible chemicals like in many other places. The lovely hot showers at all times of the day and included in the price - what a relief to not have to rush to rinse off the shampoo or soap. The camp kitchen is basic enough but more than acceptable. A small charge for laundry which is washed, dried and folded neatly for you (care was taken over delicate items).
I had to pinch myself as to which country I was in. There were such a mix of nationality - French, German, Italian as well as Ireland, N.I. England and Scotland all while we were there. It was great.
The staff on site were absolutely brilliant - helpful, relaxed, friendly and approachable to mention just a few of their qualities. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is the perfect place for camping in Connemara. The facilities are very clean and there is could and hot fresh water. The facilities are immaculate and support you with everything you need. The family who runs the campsite is very friendly and helpful. I had some really good days on the campsite and met a lot of nice people. In the night it is quiet and peaceful.
The town is only 5 min away and support you with everything you need: Restaurants, supermarket, pharmacy's, pubs, souvenirs, clothes, doctors, gallery's.... There is a lot of Irish culture in this Area. Its worth to stay here one or two days longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a beautiful campsite, it is lovely and relaxing and beautiful scenery for short walks. Showers are free and hot all day long and there is free wifi. It is well worth a visit if touring this area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crowleyprojects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location for travelling around connemara. Very good sites for both camper vans and tents. Showers and toilets spotless. Showers always hot and included in price. Lovely atmosphere and ideal for families and is very quite at night. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful, efficient and create a relaxed atmosphere. Felt like a little part of France with a large volume of French tourists staying here. Will return.
Oliver, Dublin.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Beautifully situated, very large pitches if you have a big tent. The camping itself has nice shelters (flowers, little trees). We stayed here for 4 nights and the owners were very helpful to us (even drove us to a garage 15 km from the camping site when we had car troubles).There is no washing machine but you can have your wash done and dried by the owners. The showers are great, hot all day and they are for free which is good service we think. Connemara is so much worthwhile visiting when you're in Ireland, we loved the stay here the most of our stays in western Island (and so we did Dingle).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jan Piet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
4.9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
13.5 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
867 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
0.0 mi away
Mannin Lodge B&B
Mannin Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Ballyconneely
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Camping and Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Camping and Caravan Park

Address: Shanakeever, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Price Range: £8 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Clifden Camping and Caravan Park, Connemara we've welcomed camper vans and tents since 1983. Our emphasis is on a friendly and helpful welcome for a relaxing, interesting stay in Clifden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing