We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stumbled across Foyles when we arrived in Clifden. The staff were fantastic, the food, wine and service were all excellent. We had a great time and highly recommend it. We would have loved a few days to explore the surrounding area, as so much to see!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    104
    30
    10
    10
See reviews for
45
125
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

From the moment we walked in to be greeted by Jason, we fell in love with the place. You can't fault any member of staff from the reception to the dining room and the cleaners. They are all so friendly. Breakfast exceeded my expectations and there was even a little inner courtyard to wander out in to for a cigarette afterwards. The atmosphere of the place is wonderful. Just the right side of shabby chique to be unique. Malarkey's bar in the basement is a must, especially on a Thursday night when the local talent play the most wonderful range of music. Nick with his mix of blues and country and such a great blues voice and harmonica, accompanied perfectly by another young lad on guitar and an excellent fiddle player. Another young lady who has the most melodic voice (very reminiscent of Liz Green) and her friend (Miss Sullivan) whose voice complemented it so well. I stayed we'll past my bedtime (3 in the morning) because the atmosphere was just so electric with creativity and excellent music. We were very sorry to leave.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank olympicjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We happened upon Foyle's Hotel when we arrived in Clifden without reservations for the night. We got the best price of any place we stayed during our 8 nights in Ireland (all B&Bs). The hotel was built in the 1840s and we loved the character of the place. It was clean and comfortable, and while it may have been a bit worn, I would say only in the most positive way (we try to avoid the "Holiday Inn experience" when abroad). The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was spacious with a view of the garden, an old clawed bathtub (with shower barrier), and a beautiful old wardrobe. The breakfast was varied and delicious -- they even brought fresh croissants to the table, steaming hot and the best I've had. The location is perfect for walking around Clifden, convenient to pubs & restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

There's not a lot of choice when it comes to hotels in Clifden and the lack of competition shows. Foyles has an excellent location right in the centre of this small town. It's got a nice cosy bar with live music on a few nights each week. Although the public rooms have a certain charm the bedrooms and bathrooms are very, very basic and you probably wouldn't want to stay here for a whole week. The cooked breakfasts are also on the small side, however the staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

An old period hotel with a quirky charm. The lobby is comfortable and welcoming and is an easy place to feel relaxed in surroundings from a long time ago. The staff are friendly and the service was generally good. The breakfast was excellent and overall it was good value. Off season you can bargain a little if you walk in speculatively. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom were clean but in keeping with the rest of the hotel they are a remnant of a bygone era! What might appear unclean might well be time worn enamel. A place I would stay again and very central to the heart of Clifden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed at Foyles Hotel as part of a large group. From the minute we arrived up until checkout the staff could not have been any friendlier. From the bar staff, to the restaurant staff, you got that rare feeling that the everyone was genuinely happy to help you (even managed to pester the night porter for a chicken curry at 4am!)

The hotel is in a great location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The hotels own bar had some fantastic live music, and a good atmosphere.

The decor, and furniture is not brand spanking new, but it all adds to the character of the hotel.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djoneill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Do yourself a favor...spend a few days here. This is our second trip to Clifden in three years. Both times we've stayed here. To be sure, there are other more modern places in the beautiful little city, but if you don't stay there at least once, in my humble opinion, you are missing out on spending the night in a really cool place. No lift, but there will be someone there to help with your bags. The place is old and the water pressure isn't great, but it is sufficient. You will eventually meet Jack the dog and his charge, Gweeva, a fourth generation Foyle hotelier who isn't yet two, but will dazzle you. It is a family owned establishment literally steps away from the town square. The B & B package is a great deal. The food is good and plenty of it. There is Mallarkey's BaR, whwere you can grab a fine pint , listen to music, and go to bed with out leaving the hotel. Safe and convenient. If you want to golf at Connemara....The Foyles will make the arrangements for you. Nice place, nice family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
307 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing