We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxed and comfortable hotel.”
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This comfortable hotel is a great place to stay when in Connemara. Comfortable and clean rooms with a country house feel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast is fantastic, you will gain weight for sure. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank PeppiBrisbane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed four nights on a recent holiday to Ireland. Courteous and helpful staff, spacious rooms and great food . Central location. Complimentary breakfasts seemed endless! Minor quibbles were the firm mattress and slow water pressure. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for one with strong water pressure. Also with duvet, if required, and softer mattress, if one pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureLover1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We always visit Foyles restaurant whilst in Clifden. The hotel is well situated in the centre of Clifden and easy for parking. Great family feel and much charm. Restaurant has a great ambience and lovely place to return to. The fish on the menu was exceptional

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Lib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

How lovely and refreshing to find this wonderful comfortable and elegant hotel at the end of a long day. Having spent the previous two nights in a charmless modern hotel in Westport it was such a joy to relax in the welcoming warmth of Foyle's, The room was comfortable and so spacious. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was really good. There was a genuine relaxed family atmosphere in this animal friendly hotel. I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I stayed for the first time at this hotel right in the centre of Clifden. It is a family run hotel where modern facilities are combined perfectly with old world charm. The room was spacious with period furniture front facing. The hotel is family owned & family run - even a two year old Foyle behind the reception desk. All the staff I met are just as charming as the place itself. Mullarkeys bar is also charming & it has great atmosphere with locals & out-of-towners creating a very relaxed venue. The breakfast is cooked freshly for the individual & is served piping hot with great coffee. My only issue was with a weak shower but upon my observation, I was assured by a family member that the issue was being addressed & new power showers are being installed. Overall,a great place to stay & I would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a power shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverfox711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Spent the long weekend in Clifden. The restaurant here was the best meal we had there. Smoked SalmonFabulous Halibut at €22 really good value Grand Reserve Chardonnay at €25. Professional and friendly service despite being full to capacity all evening. Bill €60 each including wine and tip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lazyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have been here on numerous occasions and have enjoyed everyone. The service is excellent, the staff are lovely, pleasant and helpful. The food is great and value for money. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnGalwayIreland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range: £71 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing