We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foyles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
Vinca, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The weather was foul. Blowing a gale and snow storms, but once inside all changed. A lovely homely hotel with excellent rooms, well cared for and en-suite. The food was just superb. Ok it was Valentines night but the female guests had a red rose and a glass of fizzy on the house. Lovely touch and great staff. Breakfast as expected excellent. Wil be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    101
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Fabulously friendly hotel with a "can do" approach . Stayed for New Year and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. While the food and wine were great the brilliant staff made the experience . Special thanks to Stephen who seems to work 24 hours a day

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RancherDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We loved our stay here! The rooms were huge with great old features and big windows! The breakfast was wonderful as well. We also love the dog that was always lounging around the hotel lobby! It was a beautiful dog and very friendly! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Eur0pe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
348 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This beautiful old hotel with period features is complemented by the friendly attentive staff.

Though there are no modern frills, we enjoyed our night in a PROPER old fashioned hotel. WiFi is intermittent depending where you are but it works and is free.

Because it was a weekend we had free parking outside the front door but beware other times as its pay and display public parking.

The breakfast, like the hotel, is a proper old fashioned one - big slabs of thick bacon, home made potato hash browns etc. Beautiful. My partner said even the big fresh croissant was one of the best she'd eaten and we holiday in France regularly!

Definitely recommended

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I spent three nights in this extremely friendly hotel, one evening I ate in the restaurant, the food was delicious and well presented and the service excellent. I have to commend them on their breakfast which set one up perfectly for the round of golf to be played at the Connemara Golf Club. Being located in the center of Clifden meant that the local bars were within easy walking distance and thus was able to enjoy the late night music on offer over a couple of guinesses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dgcrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dun Laoghaire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I wanted to stay in Clifden for a couple of nights this October and found the website for Foyles Hotel. I was really very surprised to see that they were offering a B&B price of €50, which is extremely good value for a hotel in such a central location in the town.
My room was quite basic yet very comfortable. Breakfast was really very good and the staff were more than helpful. The building is charming in an old fashioned way.
So, for a cost of less than a traditional B&B, why not stay in this lovely traditional hotel?
If I ever need to visit this beautiful part of the world again, I'll certainly try to stay in Foyles.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MilosBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed in Foyles for 2 nights in early October, originally planned to stay for just one night. Found the staff very welcoming and the hotel warm, inviting and very relaxing. The perfect place to unwind and chill out. It's proximity to the many bars and restaurants in Clifden is an added bonus. Breakfasts were excellent. The beautiful scenery of Conemara is ideal for enjoying as a day trip. The restaurant was busy and looked very nice however we had eaten outside of Clifden so will save that experience for our next stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbcatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing