We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Hotel in Clifden, Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foyles Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Foyles Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hotel in Clifden, Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

It is a very lovely hotel with it's historical lobby. Breakfast was super. Location is great. Rooms are very clean and spacey. We stayed in a room with street view. It was a little noisy, but it did not bother much. Hotel personnel is perfect.. We enjoyed this hotel and the area before heading to our beautiful Connemara sky drive..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiSunay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    101
    30
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
122
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is a lovely old-fashioned (in the best possible way) hotel with an amazing Irish breakfast and a nice room with a surprisingly big and very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is also a lovely cosy bar where you could stay for the evening no problem. The price we paid was excellent seeing as it was coming up to high-season. There are a couple of small negatives: You should be helped with your suitcases to your room on arrival. The key is given to you and you are told 'your room is on the first/second floor'. This is very common in Irish hotels but it doesn't make it right. It's much nicer if the receptionist/concierge accompanies you to your room and shows you the bathroom, coffee/tea etc.
The showers are a bit weak, especially for those of us who like a power shower (which is pretty much everyone these days!)

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if you can get a room there because there is no lift and you will have to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubliner30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at Foyles Hotel with a group of (mainly) seniors in May 2014, including on a Friday and Saturday night. I had been a bit worried beforehand about the possibility of noise on those evenings, given that the hotel is situated in the heart of small town. I need not have worried. We were not disturbed by noise and could not have been more pleased with our stay. The hotel retains the character of an old fashioned country hotel, is family run and completely unspoilt. The location is very convenient, both for evening strolls in the town and for exploring the best North Connemara has to offer. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, and the service was second to none. I strongly recommend this hotel, whether you are organising a group or travelling as an individual.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 918tour_guide918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

booked a triple room for a Sunday night , lovely guy on checking in , didn't expect much with booking a triple but room 205 was great , huge 1 single and a double and then other side had 2 singles ! spotlessly clean.
late down for dinner in Marconi restaurant but the nice guy managed to fit us in and we had a fabulous meal , really great food and staff.Mularkeys bar downstairs is realy good, great barman and a lovely relaxed place with great smoking area for the diehards.Breakfast was really good , great choices and a beautiful little courtyard to sit outside in the sunshine. was a reallly nice stay will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vdeevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

After our drive from the Cliffs of Mohre it was so nice to arrive at Foyles Hotel. We were a party of six.. 2 families. This hotel has family rooms available. We stayed in 115 and my brother in 201. Our room was quite large! 3 twin beds and one double in a nicely divided room. The bath was large also with a very nice shower/tub. Very reasonable too. Price included a full traditional Irish breakfast (kippers too). Very comfortable beds and quiet room. I was a little nervous about noise because the pub had music that night. but didn't hear a thing. Hotel is located on the main square and easy walking distance to everything. Some reviews mention 200 year old... don't worry about it. Very up to date hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed in two family rooms... # 201 and 115...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscottcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Charming hotel is a nice town. Old hotel with lots of atmoshphere. Yes, it was a bit worn - but not so much that it was affecting our stay. And the rooms were comfortable.

The breakfast was delicious (those croissants!).

We only had a brief stay, but were happy about it.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OH987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stumbled upon Foyle's Hotel last May during our first trip to Ireland and we loved it. As Connemara is our favorite area of Ireland, we scheduled a night this May at Foyle's. We weren't disappointed. Surprisingly, without asking for it or prior knowledge on their part, Foyle's put us in the exact same room as last year! It was still immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed, a cool old wardrobe, and a claw-footed tub (with shower guard). The breakfast was excellent (as it was last year). The croissants melt in your mouth! Yes, this hotel is over 200 years old and if you want the "modern look" of a standard hotel, this probably isn't for you. However, it has character, charm, history, and the staff is friendly and efficient. Plus, the location is perfect. We love this place and will definitely be back. (Maybe we'll try a different room next time!) :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Barry's Hotel
Barry's Hotel
#7 of 7 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foyles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foyles Hotel

Property: Foyles Hotel
Address: Main St., Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Foyles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Connemara’s longest established hotels trading since 1836 and owned by the Foyles for nearly a century.Foyle’s Hotel is situated in the centre of Clifden and is an ideal central point for exploring Connemara.The Hotel’s old world elegance and atmosphere have been gracefully retained through recent renovations, each room being individually decorated and furnished with charm and warmth.The Foyles and their staff offer you a warm welcome and will be happy to assist you in enjoying the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Foyles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyles Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing