We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
149
119
34
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
119
34
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marconi restaurant old world no lift bit dated a family run hotel charming hotel country hotel good sized rooms loved this hotel enjoyed my stay very pleasant stay breakfast was excellent bay window live music lamb beds were very comfortable lovely experience
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Had so much fun listening to music at bar. Thank you, Jason for making it so enjoyable
Now a thank you to Stephen for his part with dining...food excellent. No wonder so many guests for dinner Saturday night. Obvious family friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Foyles hotel came to our rescue when Alcock & Brown cancelled our 5 night stay with them but completely denied it. Foyles gave us a room which was very comfortable and had everything we needed in it. The breakfast was gorgeous, even had gluten free soda bread for me. they were beyond professional but friendly. nothing was too much trouble. the food in the restaurant at night was so good, we ate there 3 nights in a row...and again, for me being coeliac and having to have gluten free food, they couldn't have been more accommodating, unlike the previous hotel. unbelievably, the were cheaper too. i would stay here again in a heartbeat. there was more of an atmosphere here than the other one. thank you to you all for making the rest of our holiday bearable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: if you want good rooms, lovely food, great people, a seperate bar with music etc, then stay here
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We've eaten in the amazing Marconi restaurant on a few trips but this trip we stayed and weren't disappointed. The hotel (thankfully!) is not a modern revamped bland box. It is a family run warm friendly comfortable country hotel. Lovely helpful and professional staff. Clean good sized rooms with a mattress you will want to take home and plenty of hot water for a wonderful shower or deep bath any time of day. Breakfast is delicious and varied. The food in the Marconi just seems to get better every time - we went for the fish dishes on this trip and I'm still talking about them! The cosy and wonderful Mullarky's bar was equally welcoming with bartender Lulu's wonderful mix of music playing in the background - many an hour was enjoyed. The weather was awful but I still rate it as one of the best breaks we've had thanks to all at Foyle's. I will continue to recommend this to anyone going west and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ogormanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. The bedrooms were spacious and luxurious. Food in the Marconii Restaurant on the premises was top notch. Entertainment in Mullarkeys bar, also on the premises, was fantastic also. A very enjoyable stay. I look forward to returning there.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Caddyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

When recently in Clifden, a group of 7 of us, called into this hotel on a Sunday afternoon for food and coffee/tea. We were told that the bar was shut and not offered any alternative place to sit and eat. We were amazed that a hotel in a tourist destination in Ireland would not be serving food/drinks on a Sunday afternoon in August. We definitely were not made to feel welcome. Its a shame, as we were keen to see what the hotel was like as we are planning a weekend away in Clifden next year and were thinking of booking this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank cod55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews