We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value for money, excellent in every way”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Ranked #6 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money, excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This place is the number 1 on trip advisor for a reason - Alan, Kathleen & their family have done so well. For what is an average B&B price, Mallmore country house is a gem. From tea & biscuits in the grand sitting room, to the unique decor, the delicious breakfast (the salmon & scrambled egg was the best I had in Ireland) & the stunning view from the gardens, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it. The area around Clifden is amazing and a must-see for any visitors to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
170
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llanberis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

we knew what to expect at Mallmore because even the booking process was warm and friendly. The welcome from Alan, Kathleen and daughter Siobhan was friendly, helpful and way beyond what we normally expect. The breakfasts were plentiful and of the highest standard in a very pleasant dining room. In fact we were enjoying the village of Clifden so much that we extended our stay which necessitated a room move which was handled beautifully for us. There is a stunning sitting-room which would be a great place to relax on a "soft" day! Both our rooms were extremely comfortable with lovely views of the garden and the sea beyond. Clifden is a gem of a location in Ireland and we will certainly be back to stay at Mallmore.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gw1pcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile


So nice.
So unique.
So comfortable.
So beautiful.
So tasty breakfast
So friendly owners!!
So good value.
I truely recommend. If you wish to walk note that it takes about 25 minutes to walk to main street so consider taking the car. At night the first 600 meters are dark and the stars are beautiful (take a torch).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith River
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Read reviews on tripadvisor and picked the number 1, wow are we glad. This was incredible. The room was huge, with fireplace, sitting area, two chandeliers, and big windows overlooking the garden and bay. Great beds and bathroom. The breakfast was inspired. We had to double check the rate to make sure we were not dreaming. Very large room for guests to enjoy tea, games, etc. Very friendly and helpful owner. A large manor house converted to B&B of exceptional value. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddwildbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was one of the best stays of our 2 week trip to Ireland. Beautiful house, very spacious and gorgeous room, wonderful view, great breakfast, warm and friendly hostess. Loved our room and the comfortable seating for reading, etc with a great view of the back garden. The parlor was beautifully decorated with antiques with coffee/tea/biscuits any time of day. The bed/pillows were sooo comfortable- it made it hard to crawl out in the morning! The only drawback was the walk in to the town. Fine for a daytime stroll to check out the shops, but we like to check out some of the pubs at night and not wanting to drink and drive, we found that the distance was maybe a little too far when walking in the evening/dark. Aside from that, I would definitely recommend this B & B and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinneChik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for your photographs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We travelled here from Dublin in August and stayed for three nights. Run, front of house by mother and daughter team.

A warm welcome was followed with showing us to our spacious room with wonderful views out to sea. The location is just a 15 minute walk from Clifden set in its own gardens. I chose this as love to have some peace from city life and it proved a perfect tonic.

A breakfast buffet with cereals, fruit, yogurt etc is complimented with a choice of hot's from an Irish breakfast, smoked Salmon with egg's (Delicious) and vegetarian offering as well.

This is a small, quality operation and I loved the attention to detail yet simple laid back feel. A difficult balance to achieve. I would absolutely return whenever in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonboybarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
We are very grateful for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you again if you are ever back in Clifden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This charming place down a secluded road just outside Clifden was a gem. Beautiful, spacious rooms with gorgeous gardens and water beyond just outside our room. Short drive to town. Fabulous breakfast. Stately parlor room was perfect site for an evening of card-playing among my husband and I and our 2 adult children following a great dinner in town. Host was friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhan H, Manager at Mallmore Country House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review and thank you for your photographs. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#3 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Property: Mallmore Country House
Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing