We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Ranked #6 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Unfortunately, we only had one night in this charming B&B in this historic home. Our room was very large, with its own sitting area looking out onto the gardens. We raced to do the walk to Bishop's Bench before it got dark and it was worth it for the view of the harbour and Clifden. Siobhan was a delight and a mine of useful information about sightseeing in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We only planned to stay one night in Clifden, but our hosts were so great and the house and grounds so beautiful and we were recommended so many great sights, restaurants and bars (by our hosts) we had to stay another night.

Be sure to take a walk to the "Bishops Bench" and down to the water's edge, it's a beautiful view.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a wonderful House. Lovely decorated and a lot of fascinate details. We love it. It’s not only the house, the whole area is wonderful.
From our room we had a beautiful view to the garden and the bay.
The guest lounge is huge and in a wonderful style. It’s like a journey through the time. You would like to stay hours for hours.
The breakfast is in a similar room and a really big selection and it taste all wonderful.
We have absolutely enjoyed the time in Mallmore House.
Kathleen, Alan and her daughter are wonderful and very helpful hosts.
If we come back only to Mallmore House
Thank you very much
The best wishes from Petra & Patrik

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatrikBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is definately a hidden gem worth finding. It is nice and small 7/8 rooms in total. Nothing is too much trouble for this family of osts. Shiobhan was a very bubbly person and a font of information. She was so good at providing maps and suggestions to the guests. Thebreakfasts were delicious and the grounds were really lovely.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was where we spent two nights and had views on to the harbour. We thenmoved to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Marie186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a warm greeting by Siobhon we were shown to room #2 and stood amazed by the glorious technicolor view of the grounds and bay out of the bay windows - flowers, lawn, walled garden, ruins of an old stone cottage - very pleasant. We walked the grounds from the vegetable garden to the bay and even out to the "Bishop's Bench" looking out to sea and were impressed with the obvious tender loving care put into the caretaking. Cleanliness and amenities were topnotch and breakfast was served in an elegant setting in what apparently was the old chapel, with a comfortable, sunny ambiance that made our day. We got greta advice for optimizing our time in getting around to the absolute best spots to visit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at Mallmore House for 2 nights in May and enjoyed every moment. We had room #2 which has that perfect view over the gardens and the bay, with 2 armchairs perfectly situated in the bay window. Kathleen and Siobhan are lovely; charming, helpful and great cooks. If you are driving the Connemara loop, Siobhan will provide a map and suggestions. We weren't planning to drive down to Roundstone but did on her recommendation and it such a beautiful drive. Breakfasts are delicious and their soda bread was the best of the trip!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A place with so much History and dedicated owners with family help. The reading area a large room with so much history and the Breakfast area which was the Chapel. Our room so large with a lounge and bay window view out onto the Garden. Also very good Breakfast. Owners happy to share the past with you and you must read about the Home in your room welcome book

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifden
7.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
0.5 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 45 in Clifden
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £31 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing