We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Ranked #5 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hard to add anything to the views already expressed. The place is wonderful, the views superb, the hosts lovely people. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was the best I had in Ireland.
The property is very large, (35 acres I think they said) and the drive from the front gate to the house is an experience in itself. Some national parks don't do as well.
There are direct links between the property and the John Darcy who established Clifden. Seriously significant (local) history here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleagedCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
175
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Unfortunately, we only had one night in this charming B&B in this historic home. Our room was very large, with its own sitting area looking out onto the gardens. We raced to do the walk to Bishop's Bench before it got dark and it was worth it for the view of the harbour and Clifden. Siobhan was a delight and a mine of useful information about sightseeing in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We only planned to stay one night in Clifden, but our hosts were so great and the house and grounds so beautiful and we were recommended so many great sights, restaurants and bars (by our hosts) we had to stay another night.

Be sure to take a walk to the "Bishops Bench" and down to the water's edge, it's a beautiful view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a wonderful House. Lovely decorated and a lot of fascinate details. We love it. It’s not only the house, the whole area is wonderful.
From our room we had a beautiful view to the garden and the bay.
The guest lounge is huge and in a wonderful style. It’s like a journey through the time. You would like to stay hours for hours.
The breakfast is in a similar room and a really big selection and it taste all wonderful.
We have absolutely enjoyed the time in Mallmore House.
Kathleen, Alan and her daughter are wonderful and very helpful hosts.
If we come back only to Mallmore House
Thank you very much
The best wishes from Petra & Patrik

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is definately a hidden gem worth finding. It is nice and small 7/8 rooms in total. Nothing is too much trouble for this family of osts. Shiobhan was a very bubbly person and a font of information. She was so good at providing maps and suggestions to the guests. Thebreakfasts were delicious and the grounds were really lovely.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was where we spent two nights and had views on to the harbour. We thenmoved to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Marie186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a warm greeting by Siobhon we were shown to room #2 and stood amazed by the glorious technicolor view of the grounds and bay out of the bay windows - flowers, lawn, walled garden, ruins of an old stone cottage - very pleasant. We walked the grounds from the vegetable garden to the bay and even out to the "Bishop's Bench" looking out to sea and were impressed with the obvious tender loving care put into the caretaking. Cleanliness and amenities were topnotch and breakfast was served in an elegant setting in what apparently was the old chapel, with a comfortable, sunny ambiance that made our day. We got greta advice for optimizing our time in getting around to the absolute best spots to visit. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at Mallmore House for 2 nights in May and enjoyed every moment. We had room #2 which has that perfect view over the gardens and the bay, with 2 armchairs perfectly situated in the bay window. Kathleen and Siobhan are lovely; charming, helpful and great cooks. If you are driving the Connemara loop, Siobhan will provide a map and suggestions. We weren't planning to drive down to Roundstone but did on her recommendation and it such a beautiful drive. Breakfasts are delicious and their soda bread was the best of the trip!

Room Tip: Get one with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.5 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Property: Mallmore Country House
Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing