We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mallmore Country House
Ranked #5 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights, we found our hosts to be friendly & efficient. The room was large & comfortable with a bay window offering panoramic views of Clifden bay. The food was fantastic both in quality & quantity.
Whilst the view from the Bishops bench is spectacular the bench itself is a bit of a let down, also the path to it is quite steep & slippery & in my opinion not suitable for the old or infirm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmonsteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
172
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Mallmore House is a fabulous B&B out from Clifden. It is beautifully decorated, has a large sitting area with beautiful & interesting art and furniture. Lots of history here. The garden is gorgeous, loved sitting there with tea. Great paths to walk through the woods & down to the bay. Also enjoyed the walk up to the Bishop's bench to sit and look over the bay area. Only drawback for us was we were traveling by bus, and it seemed a little far to walk to town. It may have been doable if we had taken the time to find a way other than the road. But taxis are available and inexpensive.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms had windows looking toward the garden & bay. Ours didn't, but we had a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrvlr50MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Mallmore House is definitely a special Bed and Breakfast. Not only are the views and property spectacular, but the house and grounds are full of history of Clifden and John D'Arcy , and other owners of the properties. The Bishop's chair is worth the little walk to see, where the view is breathtaking.

The current owners could not be more gracious, and we felt so welcomed right away. We spent one night in guest cottage, which is very spacious and cozy, next night in the main home, which is beautifully decorated. The dining room was very inviting, and breakfast was delicious. The family, Kathleen and Al , along with daughter Siobhan were all so accommodating,and very interesting to visit with. We would definitely recommend and hope to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hard to add anything to the views already expressed. The place is wonderful, the views superb, the hosts lovely people. The scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was the best I had in Ireland.
The property is very large, (35 acres I think they said) and the drive from the front gate to the house is an experience in itself. Some national parks don't do as well.
There are direct links between the property and the John Darcy who established Clifden. Seriously significant (local) history here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleagedCouple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Unfortunately, we only had one night in this charming B&B in this historic home. Our room was very large, with its own sitting area looking out onto the gardens. We raced to do the walk to Bishop's Bench before it got dark and it was worth it for the view of the harbour and Clifden. Siobhan was a delight and a mine of useful information about sightseeing in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Global1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We only planned to stay one night in Clifden, but our hosts were so great and the house and grounds so beautiful and we were recommended so many great sights, restaurants and bars (by our hosts) we had to stay another night.

Be sure to take a walk to the "Bishops Bench" and down to the water's edge, it's a beautiful view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a wonderful House. Lovely decorated and a lot of fascinate details. We love it. It’s not only the house, the whole area is wonderful.
From our room we had a beautiful view to the garden and the bay.
The guest lounge is huge and in a wonderful style. It’s like a journey through the time. You would like to stay hours for hours.
The breakfast is in a similar room and a really big selection and it taste all wonderful.
We have absolutely enjoyed the time in Mallmore House.
Kathleen, Alan and her daughter are wonderful and very helpful hosts.
If we come back only to Mallmore House
Thank you very much
The best wishes from Petra & Patrik

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrikBlackForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.6 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#3 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallmore Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallmore Country House

Property: Mallmore Country House
Address: Ballyconneely Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mallmore Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mallmore Country House is a 4 star, family run Bed and Breakfast. It is listed as a Historic Home and dates back to the late 1700′s. Mallmore House is surrounded by 35 acres of ancient woodland, which is teeming with native wildlife and offers walks to the shores of Clifden Bay. Our home provides luxurious accommodation with individually decorated, spacious rooms, with beautiful views over Clifden Bay and our gardens. Our award winning breakfasts are served in our elegant dining room to give you a perfect start to your day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing