We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class for a B&B”
Review of Sea Mist House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Mist House
Ranked #12 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
midlands, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Top Class for a B&B”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A brilliant B&B in a beautiful building, perfectly placed in the beautiful village of Clifden. The breakfasts are amazing and rooms are really nicely decorated, with high ceilings and very comfortable beds.... there is a slight drawback... it's an old house and noise travels, breakfast is very strickly timed up to 9.30am only, which is a shame, as not everyone on holidays should feel compelled to get out of bed at 9am.... also, as it's an old house the noise from the breakfast room travels, so being wakened by the owner speaking quite loudly at 8am and playing Dire Straits loudly will probably mean we'll stay in a different establishment next time, which is a real pity.... so all they'd need to do, is loosen up on the breakfast, and consider that people on holiday are often in need of peace and quite, and they'd have the most amazing B&B in Ireland.

Room Tip: go for the rooms right on the top floor for a bit of quiet.... unless a few flights of stairs bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Sea Mist House made my holiday. We were greeted by the lovely Sheila, who was very warm and made us feel so welcome. The room was spotless, light and sunny, with views of the water. Very comfortable bed, with plush linen. The breakfast was the best I experienced in Ireland hands down, right down to the flowers that were added to the plate for decoration. Very homely and cute, with amazing gardens, home away from home. Would highly recommend Sea Mist House and I would happily live there! Michaela and Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorePlease11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

very welcoming, lovely stone house, lots of room, close to lively town centre, the sky road and connemara. tasteful and interesting decour, gourmet breakfast but no telly in the room. but who needs telly when you are staying in this fantastic area,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at Sea Mist two nights during a 10 day bike tour and it was our favorite of all the places we stayed. The house and garden are beautiful and our top floor room was gorgeous and light-filled. Clifden was definitely a highlight of the trip, partly due to this great place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Great location , great room , great food ...home from home...highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilcarraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We had a wonderful eveing in Clifden and te B&B was excellent.

Lovely old house, friendly welcome, excellent room and a great breakfast.

It is covenient for a walk down to the quay or into town to enjoy a pint and meal at Mannions whilst listening to the musicians who drop in to play and sing.

Absolutely fabulous.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Clifden is a charming Irish town and Sea Mist House is its gem. We stayed for 3 nites and it was a wonderful experience. The 200 year old house itself is steeped in character and is set in a perfect location. The twin room was spacious with character furniture and lovely decorating in time with the character of the home. The beds were most comfortable with a bright clean bathroom and powerful shower.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious with much variety,
The landlady Sheila was so friendly and most accomodating.
When we told her we were leaving very early the last morning to catch a bus to our next location.....in the fridge before we left we found a wonderful packed lunch of sandwiches on homemade bread, fruit, juice yogurt even with spoons and colourful napkins with a friendly note thanking us for the visit. What a wonderful host and beautiful cared for home....one of the best stays ever.
Thank you Sheila for making our stay so special
from 2 ladies from Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist House

Property: Sea Mist House
Address: Market Hill, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mist House is a Georgian style family home built in the 1820s, when Clifden was first founded by John D'Arcy, and was acquired by the current proprietor's grandfather in the early 1900s. The house has recently been completely refurbished but still retains its warmth and character. It is listed in "Best of Bridgestone" and various other well-known travel guides. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Mist House Hotel Clifden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing