We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Outstanding Unbeatable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside Lodge
Ranked #5 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Outstanding Unbeatable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hubby and I have been fortunate enough to have stayed with Ruth, Stuart, Molly, Ella and Sparkles on several occasions. Every time we do, the experience just gets better and better!!

As many, many previous reviewers have pointed out, the standard set in all areas is exceptional. In fact, I challenge anyone to find a better B&B anywhere!!!

The breakfast dining experience is just exquisite. Ruth outdoes herself each morning with a delicious array of fresh salad, homemade muesli, marinated prunes, organic yogurt and honey, etc. and that's just the buffet. Ruth also provides a very tempting porridge with cinnamon and honey on request. I opted for maple syrup instead and it was yummy!!

Wait until you see the wonderful cooked breakfasts on offer! There is so much choice that even the most discerning will have difficulty picking just one!! I particularly recommend the pancakes, and the poached egg with homemade potato cake. I overheard a lovely couple commenting that the vegetarian option is gorgeous too!

Hillside Lodge is such a warm, inviting, calm home-from-home that you will struggle to leave! We love our stays there and really enjoy chatting with Ruth and her charming, beautifully mannered daughter, Molly. Ella and Sparkles (gorgeous cat!) ensure that any animal lovers get their animal fix, which really helps if you are missing your own much loved furry friends while travelling!

Many other reviewers have discussed the amazing decor and memorabilia but seeing is believing. Ruth and Stuart have done an outstanding job creating an interesting and informative environment which music lovers will really enjoy checking out. But fret not, you don't need to be passionate about music to be able to relax in the sumptuous surroundings provided, both in your room and in the stunning guest lounge.

If you are travelling to the Galway area you really should come to Clifden, and you definitely must stay with Ruth and family!! It will be the highlight of your holiday!!

Our only complaint...it's too difficult to leave!! :)

Room Tip: If you have special requests, just ask...Ruth will do her best to help in anyway. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette-T-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    41
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
228
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My son n I stayed there just for a night. If we would've known better would've planned for more! Ruth is a lady,A lady with taste! She is a great cook,immaculate taste of decor and great music fan.Their dog Ella kept my boy from missing our dog back home. Great location,great food,great people absolutely splendid! Must stay at least two nights here to enjoy Sky Road,Clifden.

Room Tip: Best place in Clifden.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Resh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Hillside Lodge for 3 nights. The house is filled with memorabilia from U2 concerts, guitars hanging on the walls, pictures of musicians and concerts. The dog is named Ella and there is nice jazz music playing at breakfast. We had our best breakfasts in Ireland while at Hillside Lodge. Ruth bakes her own bread and serves the BEST smoked salmon in the whole country! (large portion..) Her fruit salad was huge and fresh every morning.

The room was large and clean. The road is a bit busy, especially during the weekend.

Great location to see Connemara, Kylemore Abbey and the Sky road.

However, we didn't get to see and talk to the owners that much.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the stairs, but we didn't hear the other guests all that much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

My friend & I stayed at Hillside Lodge in July 2013 and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Beatles-themed room which was actually super classy! The B&B is immaculate!

Hillside lodge is about 1.5 km from the town center (a little under a mile). It's a downhill walk TO town. It's not a bad walk (in fact, my friend & I did the walk back at 1am - it was a full moon!) A taxi to town costs 5 euros and the taxi comes 5 minutes after you call (actually Ruth called for us).

We borrowed bikes from Ruth and biked around the Sky Road loop (definitely do this if you are able to!)

Breakfast was included - you just have to fill out a little form for what you want and what time you want to eat. The house is really adorable w/ lots of Rock n Roll memorabilia hanging on the walls (Ruth's husband is a guitar tech for some famous bands :)

Ruth also helped us set up horseback riding on the beach in nearby Ballyconneely.

A really lovely stay! Would definitely return!

Room Tip: just ask for the Beatles-themed room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramanyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was definitely the best B&B we had in Ireland! A beautiful room, with a very comfortable bed - and breakfast was delicious - thank you Ruth for your home-made muesli!
In the sitting room I could find interesting books & literature about vintage guitars & basses :-)
It was also a pleasure to chat to Stuart, Ruth, Molly (and Ella, of course), they are such lovely people.

"Thank you for the wonderful time, we hope to be back and stay a little bit longer. You guys are awesome!"

Gill & Charly from Perth/Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We enjoyed a lot staying at this lovely place! The rooms are very cute and the area is great, especially when you let Ella, the dog of the family, makes you discover her favourite walk!
The breakfast is also a good deal, with a choice between several menus, completed by a buffet
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent-tiphanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had a short stay at Hillside Lodge but very much enjoyed this lovely home. We had the deluxe double room and it was amazing! Very spacious bedroom and sitting room, and comfortable bed and bath. Breakfast was wonderful. Distance to town seemed more of a drive than a walk. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CML0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge

Property: Hillside Lodge
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Bed and Breakfast located on the scenic Sky Road, five minutes from Clifden town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing