We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay with wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hillside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillside Lodge
Ranked #3 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay with wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We loved our stay at Hillside Lodge. Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean, with a nicely appointed ensuite and stylish decor. Ruth is a wonderful host, breakfast is delicious, (we loved the homemade muesli and smoked salmon and eggs). It is perfectly situated not far from town right on Sky Road. The entrance to Clifden Castle is literally across the street, which we enjoyed the scenic walk with Ella, Hillside's friendly labrador. We also enjoyed the books in the sitting room and the interesting memorabilia from Stuart's music career. Excellent stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jkm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    41
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
235
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a really excellent B&B, comfortable rooms, relaxing sitting room, delicious breakfast and friendly hosts. Highly recommmended. We were able to walk to Clifden town each evening so this is a great location. We borrowed some bicycles and cycled the Sky Road loop which was really beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emma-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was the best B&B we had during our trip in West-Ireland. A warm welcome from Stewart, great and beautiful room with a view on the sea and a super location, 30 minutes by walk from the village. The decoration of the B&B is very tasteful and the breakfast is delicious and more than enough. Great help from Stewart and Ruth when having questions regarding trips, interesting things to do, etc.. We hope to come back one day!!

Ronny and Karin

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ronny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

First class B&B. Couldn't meet nicer people. Friendly, helpful and the place is immaculately clean.
It's about 1 and a half km from town and up a hill so if you enjoy walking it's good exercise. Views along sky road are gorgeous. You are welcome to take their Labrador for a walk, which we did and she is beautiful.
Clifden is a fabulous place. We stayed out late one night (2am) and couldn't get a cab so the owner of the bar drove us home!!! Great people!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank La Coron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

First, the location: It's beautifully situated just outside town... away from the traffic congested small city center. Second, the room was terrific. Good amenities... comfortable bed... even a small TV viewing room in the unit we had. Best of all: the hosts. Stewart and Ruth are warm, welcoming and full of very useful local knowledge. My wife left a pair of shoes behind... and Ruth was super nice about mailing them to us at our Dublin B&B at no charge. So superior service... and a very enjoyable stay. Rating is a definite excellent.

Room Tip: We had a unit with a small TV viewing room next to the bedroom. Very nice... although I believe tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a warm welcome & wonderful time at Hillside Lodge, it's a great place to stay, extremely friendly owners and staff, great decor, excellent breakfast. The lodge is a short drive from town, quiet and nice location. Wonderful scenery and great walking trails in Connemara.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerie140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a wonderful bed & breakfast on the Sky Road. Service was excellent, rooms were spotless and the breakfast was delicious! We loved the country atmosphere and the quiet serenity, but it was close enough to enjoy the town of Clifden. Make sure that you take advantage of the walk to the ruins of the Clifden Castle. The entrance is right across from the B&B. Well worth the hike and one of the castle highlights of our trip (and we toured many castles!).

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room. It was very spacious and had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.1 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Lodge

Property: Hillside Lodge
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Bed and Breakfast located on the scenic Sky Road, five minutes from Clifden town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing