We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay.”
Review of Ben View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben View House
Ranked #1 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Eileen was very hospitable. The shower was wonderful. Have never seen one like it. Many Pubs were within walking distance so we could visit more than one in an evening. Breakfast was wonderful with a choice of what we wanted to eat. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the beautiful church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were VERY lucky to get the last available room at this B&B when we ended up stranded in Clifden with a flat tire. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, accommodating our last minute late night arrival and directing us to a nearby tire repair shop the next morning. As a bonus, she made us a delicious Irish breakfast, with homemade pancakes that were the best I've ever tasted! Additionally, the room we stayed in was very large, comfortable and nicely decorated. Our stay turned what could have been a difficult night into a wonderful experience. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradogirl444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Eileen was absolutely wonderful! She was very helpful and so interesting to talk to. She made us feel right at home. Great location; quiet but close to everything. Breakfast was delicious! All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdieBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Parts of the place feel like a museum with all the photos, ornate dinner ware and antiques — especially the dining room. It has a sense of being intimate and comfortable. They let us choose the rooms we wanted from of all that were available, which allowed us to pick a real street-side gem with a view of the church.

Restaurants and pubs are just minutes away in both directions, so the location is ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Couldn't ask for more... Comfortable beds, warm and cosy quiet rooms, great showers (very important!), and hospitality second to none. This beautifully furnished B and B has a long history of providing a true Irish welcome - it's been operated by the same family since the twenties, and the care and attention to detail is fantastic. The perfectly cooked and beautifully presented full Irish breakfast (or pancakes if you prefer) is an added bonus! Thanks Eileen for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank bookgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed one night in mid-April, 2013. We chose Ben View because of its Lonely Planet rep for accepting bicyclers, but were not prepared for the warm reception and delightful decor of family antiques. The large, rain-shower type shower head was a morning joy and the breakfast our favorite so far in Ireland skipping the customary "irish" breakfast and going for porridge and thick, crepe-like pancakes. Heat (a cold April) and quilts were more than adequate. Eileen was a wonderful hostess and provided an impeccably clean home. An Indian restaurant, the Basmati, was a welcome change from Irish fare at a more economical rate, with excellent flavor

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed one night in Ben View House in March 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were shown all rooms available and then free to choose the one which best suited us. The double room was spacious, pleasantly d fitted and the beds very comfortable.
The free Wifi and the very central location are a plus too.
The breakfast was just amazing and Desmond and Eileen did their best to look after us and make us feel very welcome. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntjeundWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £68 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ben View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing