We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the best ever B+B”
Review of Ben View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben View House
Ranked #1 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tralee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its the best ever B+B”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After traveling all around the coast of Ireland on a 5 day charity run for the Kerry S.P.C.A. on our fourth night and very very tired we stopped in Clifton and found the Ben view B+B . I have stopped in many B+B,s in my life and without a shadow of doubt it,s the best place iv ever stayed . the rooms were very nice and spotlessly clean tea and coffee facilities . the hole house was the same spotless . Eileen looked after us extremely well nothing was a trouble for her we were on motor bikes and she give us the key for the garage so we could keep our bikes safe . the dinning room was outstanding as was the massive breakfast we had for 6 hungry bikers deferentially a 10/10 place to stay ........ well done Eileen ...... we,ll b e back !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry_atrick-Tralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    49
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
76
213
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bubendorf, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I spent four nights at the Ben View B&B July 2013 and was served the best breakfast I ever had in Ireland. Nice rooms and a perfect location in the center of Clifden, highly recommendable. Parking can be a challenge in Clifden in high season so be prepared to walk a few metres.

Room Tip: Clifden can be a busy town in summer and if you want a perfect night's sleep ask for a room goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifden, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a great place to stay. Eileen is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the food is great. We are here in Clifden on a riding trip with Willy Leahy, http://www.connemaratrail.com/ which has been the adventure of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed in this B&B on Saturday the 20th. We Called around 18.00 and it was no problem to come by have a look at the room. As soon as I stepped in I knew we had to stay here. Ben remembered my name straight away, showcased the greatest hospitality, not just accomodation. The breakfast room was maybe the best of all, silver tea and coffee pots but in very good condition; fantastic! The breakfast itself was tastefull and royal portions! Definitely the place to go in Clifden!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recent July stay of 2 nights with my three sisters, was a dream B&B experience. Top of the tier
hospitiality, breakfast, & local knowledge was most welcome. This was my third trip to the Ben View House in twelve years, and I have loved it more each visit. Eileen is an excellent hostess, and very hands on. Beautiful flowers out front, and breafast settings & food not to be beat.
I will be back to this charming locale.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

WOW!

Thank you for this great experience and great hospitality.
A bed soft like a cloud, a super location, and a royal breakfast (pancakes are super, YUMMI!).
And Eileen gives good advices for activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefbgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Clifden and Benview made a wonderful place to stay. Desmond and Eileen are 3rd generation owners. The B&B was started by their grandparents in 1928. They were so welcoming to us, with no reservation. The moment I saw the beautiful Victorian breakfast room, I knew we would stay there. Our room was lovely, complete with special touches like red geranium window boxes. Desmond helped us find some local cousins and recommended a few local pubs that were very friendly. He also suggested the sea view drive, which was beautiful.

Go visit Mannion's Pub and talk to Paul, the 3rd generation owner. Also visit Doogle, the bar tender at Lowry's for some real Irish charm.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alcock & Brown Hotel
Alcock & Brown Hotel
#6 of 7 in Clifden
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Property: Ben View House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ben View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing