We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ben View House B&B, Clifden, Co. Galway, Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ben View House
Ranked #1 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Co.Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ben View House B&B, Clifden, Co. Galway, Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was one of 6 people on a 1,200 plus mile charity ride around the coast of the Island of Ireland, in aid of the Kerry Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. At the end of day 4, with almost 1,000 miles ridden, we arrived in Clifden, Co. Galway and pulled into a petrol station. Across the road was the Ben View House B&B. It looked really good from the outside so we said we would see if there were any rooms available (fortunately it was a sunday evening so our chances were increased). What a pleasant surprise when we got inside.....The place was more like a good quality hotel than a B&B! Not all modern and sterile looking, this place is classy with beautiful old world style and furnishings. Eileen, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful even to the point of providing a locked garage for our motorcycles! The Rooms were great and most importantly on a long motorcycle run, the beds really comfortable. Now then, the breakfast, what can I say? well, we knew it was going to be good ever before we got it. The dining room is stunning and the condiments in proper containers not tear open sachets and squeezy bottles lol. The breakfast was magnificent......and huge.....even I struggled to finish and believe me I have an appetite! Fair Play Eileen, we will be back, we are already planning a trip to the blues club in Clifden and you can be sure we will be staying at the Ben View !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    45
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
72
191
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tralee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

After traveling all around the coast of Ireland on a 5 day charity run for the Kerry S.P.C.A. on our fourth night and very very tired we stopped in Clifton and found the Ben view B+B . I have stopped in many B+B,s in my life and without a shadow of doubt it,s the best place iv ever stayed . the rooms were very nice and spotlessly clean tea and coffee facilities . the hole house was the same spotless . Eileen looked after us extremely well nothing was a trouble for her we were on motor bikes and she give us the key for the garage so we could keep our bikes safe . the dinning room was outstanding as was the massive breakfast we had for 6 hungry bikers deferentially a 10/10 place to stay ........ well done Eileen ...... we,ll b e back !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerry_atrick-Tralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubendorf, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I spent four nights at the Ben View B&B July 2013 and was served the best breakfast I ever had in Ireland. Nice rooms and a perfect location in the center of Clifden, highly recommendable. Parking can be a challenge in Clifden in high season so be prepared to walk a few metres.

Room Tip: Clifden can be a busy town in summer and if you want a perfect night's sleep ask for a room goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifden, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was a great place to stay. Eileen is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the food is great. We are here in Clifden on a riding trip with Willy Leahy, http://www.connemaratrail.com/ which has been the adventure of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed in this B&B on Saturday the 20th. We Called around 18.00 and it was no problem to come by have a look at the room. As soon as I stepped in I knew we had to stay here. Ben remembered my name straight away, showcased the greatest hospitality, not just accomodation. The breakfast room was maybe the best of all, silver tea and coffee pots but in very good condition; fantastic! The breakfast itself was tastefull and royal portions! Definitely the place to go in Clifden!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recent July stay of 2 nights with my three sisters, was a dream B&B experience. Top of the tier
hospitiality, breakfast, & local knowledge was most welcome. This was my third trip to the Ben View House in twelve years, and I have loved it more each visit. Eileen is an excellent hostess, and very hands on. Beautiful flowers out front, and breafast settings & food not to be beat.
I will be back to this charming locale.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

WOW!

Thank you for this great experience and great hospitality.
A bed soft like a cloud, a super location, and a royal breakfast (pancakes are super, YUMMI!).
And Eileen gives good advices for activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefbgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Foyles Hotel
Foyles Hotel
#5 of 7 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Property: Ben View House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ben View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing