We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Ben View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben View House
Ranked #1 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Lovely room, centrally located in Clifden. My husband & I didn't have a reservation, but we were off-season and they were very accommodating. Our host, Desmond, learned our names straight off, and greeted us warmly by name every time we saw him. Wonderful breakfast. It's a lovely town, and our stay here helped make it complete. Lovely dining room, filled with silver tea sets. You wouldn't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We payed a little less for a room up in the back (30 v.35 eur/pp).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    47
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
75
198
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ben View for 2 nights as part of our tour through NW Ireland. During our 2 week-long trip we stayed exclusively in B&Bs, mostly in small villages. Our stay at the Ben View was one of the best. It is located within the main part of Clifden--so there are plenty of pubs, shops, and restaurants within easy walking distance. The room we stayed in was very nice--clean, comfortable bed and large enough to have room for our suticases, etc. Eileen was a wonderful host--she gave us great advice on places to go for a run and enjoy a beer and music at the local pubs. Breakfast was great--it was made to order every morning. Overall it was a great stay and one of the highlights of our Irish Holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJJFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Bay, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our night at Ben View House, from the immediate proximity to all the action in downtown Clifden to the lovely room, to the scrumptious and magnificently appointed breakfast! The fresh pancakes were especially delicious!! Eileen and Des were entirely engaging and helpful in enabling us to find our way around town. We tavelled all around the Irish countryside this trip, and Ben View was the best B&B we came across!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Gort, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I arrived last saturday evening for a one night stay in Benview. Des met me in the lobby and I was made feel at home immediately. Delightful room with all that I needed. A breakfast that was scrumptous and freshly made pancakes too. It is so lovely to be made feel at home and to have someone welcome you, this is what being Irish is all about. Thank you for a lovely stay Des, you really know how to treat guests. Regards Enid

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Everything about our stay with Eileen and Desmond in July was first-rate and fun. The exterior and the common areas are lovely. Check-in was easy and informative. Their location is perfect for exploring Clifden and is almost next door to the bike shop where we had our rentals reserved. Our room (#8) was spacious and well-laid out and the bed was by far the most comfortable on our whole trip. Our hosts went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed or could want. We actually changed our plans to stay an extra night, we were having such a terrific time.

Room Tip: We didn't see the others but were really happy with #8. Quiet, bright and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Ben View is a family run B&B in the town of Clifden, I can assure that here you will be given a warm fàilte (welcome).
The house dates back to the 1840's and its character and charm is beautifully maintained.
Our room was warm and cosy, perfect after a day exploring the mountains and shores of Connemara. Breakfast was hearty and prepared to a very high standard, beyond the usual B&B fare.

The proprietor, Eileen, takes huge pride in running the house which has been in her family for several generations. She was happy to sit with us after breakfast and explain her family history and tell us more about the area so that we could make the most of our short stay.
The B&B is set just off the main street in Clifden with some nice pubs offering traditional Irish music just round the corner.

We only stayed for one night but feeling as welcome and well looked after as we did we would have happily stayed a lot longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in the Ben View B&B for the Aug bank-holiday weekend.
From the moment we were met by the owner, we were made feel at home, What I liked was that he knew all his guests by name.
The room was lovely and clean, as was the shower-room.
Breakfast was something else. The home-made pancakes which were served with the full breakfast are even better than mine :) with that and the home-made bread, and superior quality produce, I'd safely say it's one of the best breakfasts I've ever had I did love the silver tea/coffee post and sugar bowels.
The B&B is centrally located.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.1 mi away
Clifden Station House
1.4 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View House

Property: Ben View House
Address: Bridge Street, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben View House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ben View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing