We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in a beautiful setting!”
Review of Rockmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockmount House
Ranked #14 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at Rockmount House on August 31st, 2011. We wish we had scheduled more time to stay and enjoy the peaceful area and beautiful scenery. Our accommodations were comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We enjoyed listening to music and watching the birds outside as we enjoyed our traditional Irish breakfast. Power strip provided in room for charging phones and camera batteries. Other nice touches provided to make us feel welcome. The short walk to the cliffs was even better than expected. Owners keep the path clear for easy navigation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed only 1 night (unfortunately) and will come back for sure. The owners are very nice and make you fell at home. Nice location, even if it is not in the centre of Clifden, very clean and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast. Private path to the cliffs (with the family's dog as guide :-)), where you'll enjoy the wide blue and green landscape, sense of freedom and contact with nature. Recommended B&B.
Roberta (Italy)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robertama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Every thing was really great; wonderful breakfast, beautiful clean rooms, delightful backyard walk to the coast/cliffs, friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlynngin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We were looking for something remote but with good access to the local sights and we couldn't have found a more perfect place. We got a very friendly welcome, but not overbearing. It's location on the Lower Sky Rd out of Clifden was perfect, with it's own access to the cliffs and a short drive into the town. The room was very comfortable with a nice en suite. The breakfast menu had a great choice with not just the usual "full Irish" but also options like an excellent fruit selection or a plate of cheese and hams. Anne was very helpful and knowledgable about the local attractions. We would highly recommend staying here if you are anywhere in this location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen020978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed here in 2005 and 2007 and if we get back to Ireland we will stay here again. It is one of the places for which we have fond memories and often talk about. The lady of the house is a gem. I will always remember her for the wonderful scrambled eggs she made. The breakfast room is bright, clean, and decorated wonderfully. Best of all, she turns on the heat early so the bedroom will be warm when you return after being aout in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmieBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We stayed here last year during our visit to Clifden. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, and felt very comfortable here. The house is beautiful, and even more breathtaking were the views of the cliffs that surround their house-(They have a trail in the back of their house that takes you right to the cliffs). The area is a photographer's dream.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceanaprocession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We stayed at the Rockmount House by Clifden for our very first night in Ireland. Although just a little tricky to find, it was well worth the visit - and the drives along Lower Sky Road and Upper Sky Road were beautiful. About a 15 min drive from the actual town of Clifden (which we also enjoyed) this was a convenient spot to stay for our golf at Connemara. Breakfast was lovely, the rooms were spotless and very comfortable. And our hosts were gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
2.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Atlantic View
Atlantic View
#19 of 45 in Clifden
62 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 45 in Clifden
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seafield House
Seafield House
#18 of 45 in Clifden
87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clifden Bay Lodge
Clifden Bay Lodge
#20 of 45 in Clifden
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount House

Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockmount House is situated on the scenic sky road, and offers breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean.situated 5 km from Clifden, with a private walking trail to the cliffs at the back of the house. convenient to all local amenities. Breakfast menu and warm welcome assured. Free WiFi access. Guide du routard recommend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rockmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing