We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely night on the sky road”
Review of Rockmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockmount House
Ranked #15 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely night on the sky road”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent a night at Seafield House and it was lovely. The owners were very nice and welcoming. The house was beautiful and the breakfast delicious. The room was great. The private path from the house to the cliffs is nice and ideal for enjoying the view on the ocean. We warmly recommand this house for a stay in Connemara.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a great blue sky day on the Lower Sky Road in late June. The hosts were very friendly and our room was one that had a view of the water. The room was very comfortable and clean. Yes, Lady the dog is charming and we enjoyed the walk with Lady down to the cliffs so much that we did it twice. The view is spectacular. Yes, the Sky Road is narrow, but if you let that keep you from this view, you'll really be missing something. My wife and I agreed that had we to do it over again, we would have spent another day there. We used Trip Adviser quite a bit to review our choices of B&B's, so we'll share that it was a great stay. Comfortable sitting room, clean, nice breakfast etc, but it's the view and it's spectacular!

Room Tip: there is one room with a water view, but if it's daylight you should be outside anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Rockmount House in May 2012. The house is very nice, our room was very large and comfortable. Warm welcome from the hosts! From the garden you may walk right to the shores. The Sky Road totaly worth it; as does Clifden and the Connemara!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Rockmount house is a clean, nice and peaceful guesthouse, a very friendly service and a beautiful coast! We enjoyed!
We also recommend the Indian restaurant in the center of Clifden. The food was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Comfortable family room for 4 (2 adults, 2 kids). We didn't have enough time to visit the Cliffs of Moher but these cliffs were breathtaking and the view was beautiful nonetheless. Plus, we had our own special escort, Lady, the collie ! After our whirlwind vacation across Ireland, it was nice to relax in such a beautiful place and comfortable home. The grounds have their own lovely path to the cliffs with wildflowers. The neighboring pastures with grazing sheep was picturesque. Traditional breakfast, delicious ! We enjoyed our stay. Highly recommend, family friendly ! Great Dog !!!

Room Tip: Have kids, great place - Lady, the collie and trampoline in backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcdUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

incredible scenic location with cliffs in the garden, wonderful B & B and very warm hospitality, greatly suggested !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrizio_Pigliucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falster, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My sister and I got a warm welcome, hot tea and ginger cookies was just what we needed.

The place and the view from the room was just perfect!! Close to Clifden for dinner and yet totally out where the sky meets the sea!

Also a good base for taking trips in The Connemara National Park, we stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaAlstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
2.2 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seafield House
Seafield House
#18 of 45 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount House

Property: Rockmount House
Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockmount House is situated on the scenic sky road, and offers breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean.situated 5 km from Clifden, with a private walking trail to the cliffs at the back of the house. convenient to all local amenities. Breakfast menu and warm welcome assured. Free WiFi access. Guide du routard recommend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Rockmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing