We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockmount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockmount House
Ranked #15 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Maubeuge, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We went this week-end at the Rockmount house and wonderfull is the best adjective .......
We liked all, the bedroom and THE breakfast !!!!
Anne, Paddy, thanks for your amability and simplicity.
We love Ireland and Irish ....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacedaur_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Rockmount House was lovely, even without the amazing scenery along Sky Road. The drive from town is well worth it. The owners were wonderful. The room was comfortable and clean. The dogs were sweet and welcoming as well. Highly recommend the location for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the cliffs side have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Rockmount House was the perfect ending point for our trip to the west coast of Ireland. We were looking for something that was a little ways from town in order to get some peace and quiet in, in a lovely location. Rockmount did not disappoint.

The owners were very friendly and professional. We received a warm welcome and felt comfortable in the home. As another reviewer commented, we perhaps felt a little more like customers than old friends, which isn't a bad thing. Just something to note on the spectrum of B&B types. We did thoroughly enjoy the hospitality of Anne and Paddy.

We were fortunate to get the sea view room, although it wouldn't have mattered too much, as we spent most of our time out and about. The room was spotlessly clean, with an en suite bathroom. The shower had incredible pressure.

The guest sitting room was equipped with tea, coffee, milk/sugar, and a tin of cookies (which we greatly appreciated). The dining area was bright, and the breakfast was a great Irish B&B spread. I had the fruit and yogurt, while my husband had the salmon with eggs. Both were great choices, and we also enjoyed the brown bread, cereals and nuts. The coffee at Rockmount was the best we had in Ireland! Nice and strong, and flavourful. One tip for this (and other) B&Bs: if you like the brown soda bread, which we do, tell the B&B owners not to bother also cooking you up some toast. We found the meals to be so plentiful that the toast was not needed, and would go to waste.

One of the things we loved about the Rockmount was the trail through the tall grasses to the ocean cliffs. Lady the dog joined us for our first walk out there. On our second night there we brought a bottle of wine, baguette, cheese, meat and chocolate, and enjoyed a lovely dinner by the water. We noted later that another family also did this. We highly recommend it!

Both nights we went for walks from the house. Out of the house, we headed left up the road, and had a great view of the sunset. The bird flocks were very fun to watch as well.

Anne and Paddy have just got a new puppy, which we enjoyed playing with. She had yet to be named, but is super cute.

The house is a bit of a drive from town, so if you are looking for something within walking distance, this won't be the place for you. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful location close to the ocean, with a great atmosphere and excellent facilities, then you should book here. During our stay, two of the other groups of guests were repeat visitors. This speaks volumes to the great experiences everyone has at this B&B.

The drive to Connemara National Park and Kylemore Abbey is not too far, and it is nice to go for drives along the various peninsulas in the area. We chanced upon an incredible beach at Omey Island. We recommend heading out there at low tide. The beach was sandy and vast, with not a lot of people there, despite being one of the hottest days of the year. Clifden itself is a beautiful town to visit, and we loved browsing the shops and had some great meals

Thank you Anne and Paddy! It was a pleasure to meet you, and to stay in your delightful B&B.

Room Tip: Sea view is great, but don't be disappointed if you don't get a sea view room. You will hop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalacticKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were delighted with our choice of Rockmount House and the room, beds, cleanliness and breakfast. Charming landlady. Dog was also delightful. View from the room - just walk over the cow field and you're on top of the cliffs. Do be aware that there is an upper and lower Sky Road.
Take the upper Sky Road for the view and the Lower Sky Road to get straight to the house without making a long winded detour.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent a night at Seafield House and it was lovely. The owners were very nice and welcoming. The house was beautiful and the breakfast delicious. The room was great. The private path from the house to the cliffs is nice and ideal for enjoying the view on the ocean. We warmly recommand this house for a stay in Connemara.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a great blue sky day on the Lower Sky Road in late June. The hosts were very friendly and our room was one that had a view of the water. The room was very comfortable and clean. Yes, Lady the dog is charming and we enjoyed the walk with Lady down to the cliffs so much that we did it twice. The view is spectacular. Yes, the Sky Road is narrow, but if you let that keep you from this view, you'll really be missing something. My wife and I agreed that had we to do it over again, we would have spent another day there. We used Trip Adviser quite a bit to review our choices of B&B's, so we'll share that it was a great stay. Comfortable sitting room, clean, nice breakfast etc, but it's the view and it's spectacular!

Room Tip: there is one room with a water view, but if it's daylight you should be outside anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metz, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Rockmount House in May 2012. The house is very nice, our room was very large and comfortable. Warm welcome from the hosts! From the garden you may walk right to the shores. The Sky Road totaly worth it; as does Clifden and the Connemara!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
4.0 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.2 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clifden Bay Lodge
Clifden Bay Lodge
#17 of 50 in Clifden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seafield House
Seafield House
#19 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount House

Property: Rockmount House
Address: Lower Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockmount House is situated on the scenic sky road, and offers breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean.situated 5 km from Clifden, with a private walking trail to the cliffs at the back of the house. convenient to all local amenities. Breakfast menu and warm welcome assured. Free WiFi access. Guide du routard recommend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rockmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing