We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience!!”
Review of Ocean Villa B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Villa B&B
Ranked #36 of 45 Clifden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Ocean Villa and loved it!!

It's an 8km drive from Clifden, so not in town, but the drive has some of the best views in the country! The view from the house is fabulous too, with the sea practically at the doorstep!

The owners, Carmel and Martin, made us feel at home from the moment we arrived, inviting us into the sitting room and chatting over cups of tea. We felt as though they were old friends!

The breakfast was fantastic! High quality food and more than we could finish!! Couldn't have asked for better service! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Villa B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Villa B&B for five nights and enjoyed the experience. The B&B is an older style establishment that doesn’t have all the bells and whistles of its 5 star counterparts. What is does have is magnificent views, being perfectly situated on the Sky Road, warm hospitality and great breakfasts.

Our hosts Carmel and Martin were very welcoming. They made us feel very at home straight away and were incredibly accommodating of my disabled mother.

The rooms are simply decorated and have great views of the surrounding farming area. We loved the country feel - especially the Connemara horses and baby donkey which you can see from the ground floor rooms - and the uninterrupted views of the ocean inlet which were spectacular at sunset.

There are also lots of lovely walks around Ocean Villa including a walk to the headland along a very picturesque lane – the stuff that memories are made of!

If you want an authentic experience in simple accommodation that is incredibly close to Clifden, Roundstone and even Oughterard and the wonderful valleys in the area then this is a perfect choice. We would also highly recommend this accommodation for less mobile or disabled guests.

Thanks to Carmel and her family for creating wonderful memories for us - you won't be forgotten.

Love Desiree, Jack and Jenny (Australia)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gatitamuybonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Clifden is a beautilful place to stay but don't stay in this B&B !!! The shower was very dirty and the toilet bowl they forgot to clean it .... "I THINK".
There was a little brown boat travelling in the toilet bowl !!! We slept that night with our clothes on and also the bed was very old ! The coffee cup in my room had some rust flakes . Don't take your shoes off in the room because the carpet is full of dust !
The only positive thing in this B&B is the view ! The Ocean villla has a very very very beautilful view !!!!!!! The owner,Carmel, is a nice person but she asked us 40 euro for a ensuite without a view . For that price on the sky road of Cliden you could find a four or a five stars B&B. I'm very sorry to write negative of this B&B but it's the truth !
BELIEVE ME !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinnyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Villa B&B for six nights in August 2010 and we absolutely loved it! Martin and Carmel are among the nicest people you'll ever meet and were always ready to give advice about trips, attractions, shopping and dining opportunities in the area. We had the front room with a fantastic scenic view and the room standard was well within our expectations. And even if our room was a little exposed to the driveway we barely noticed any noise from the other guests. It is true that the Ocean Villa shows signs of use, but that just adds to the authenticity of the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knobelauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

The property is located a few hundred meters away from the northern side of the Sky Road loop. Clearly marked from the northern entrance of this loop road. Hard to find if you come from the southern side of this loop road, the side that offers the real spectacular views. The rooms are very clean and with new furniture and a comfortable bed. Good and and tasty breakfast. The welcoming hostess accommodated our tastes. Nice views over a gulf. For dinner or supplies you have to travel to Clifden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fane_Babanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2007

While Ocean Villa was located some ways outside of Clifden my husband and I found that the view more than made up for that fact. We enjoyed being right on the waterfront, away from the town but close enough that we were still able to explore. Like other reviewers, we also stayed in the room toward the front of the house. While it was small and the bed a bit used, it was still comfortable in our opinion. Carmel is a great hostess--very friendly and easy to talk to. Accomodations were fairly clean and it is obvious the home has been well used but in an inviting and cozy sort of way (kind of like going to grandmas!). She allowed us to use her phone and internet and there is a common room toward the front of the home with a TV, etc. as well as a lovely sun room to relax in.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TimeTravelerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2007

I cant believe how lucky we were to find oceanvilla, it is a little gem located in the west of Ireland with the Atlantic coast right at your doorstep. I cant wait to go back this summer, the service was that of no other that i have experienced in the world and believe me I've travelled. The hosts carmel and martin could be nicer and more friendlier. it was like we had known them for years. The room was beautiful and spacious with a sea view. I'm counting down the days to our return already!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank missy_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
40.2 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
41.1 mi away
Atlantic View
Atlantic View
#20 of 45 in Clifden
61 reviews
42.1 mi away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 45 in Clifden
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mannin Lodge B&B
Mannin Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Ballyconneely
38 reviews
41.0 mi away
The Inn to the West
The Inn to the West
#11 of 45 in Clifden
142 reviews
41.0 mi away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villa B&B

Address: Ocean Villa Sky road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range: £55 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Villa B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Villa B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing